Theses and Dissertations

Step One: Identify Keywords

Choosing the best keywords can greatly impact your search results. Each database and catalog may have different preferred words and subject classifications. It will pay off to spend some time at the beginning of the research process to brain storm and make a list of potential key words.

Key words can be found by looking at your research question, articles from background research, encyclopedias, handbooks, and bibliographies and references lists at the end of books and articles.  You may also want to consult a thesaurus to identify synonyms.

Working with a librarian at the reference desk can also help. Stop by the reference desk, or contact a librarian using chat, phone, or text. You may also schedule a one-on-one appointment.

Talk to your instructor, colleague or classmate about your topic and other keywords may emerge.

If there is a professional organization linked to your topic, consult their web site for research and search terms.

Keep a key word and search term list or journal in a notebook or online. Make notes about which terms work in each database.

As you search in specific databases, many have thesauri or indexes. Try the terms you have on your list and see what the database recommends.

 

Step Two: Search to Find Out What's Been Written About Your Topic

What's already been written about your topic? You can find out by consulting databases and library catalogs.

Identify who the experts are by seeing how many articles and books have been written by specific scholars.

It is helpful if, near the beginning of research process, you search for literature reviews and meta-analyses and then find the sources that these sources describe. To find these, often just typing "literature review" or "meta-analysis" as one of your keywords will bring up relevant results. Some databases, such as PsycInfo, for example, allow you to limit your search to these type of sources. Many of our electronic databases will give a hyperlink to the sources mentioned and cited. Thus, you can track down those sources.

If the database or catalog does not give a hyperlink to the cited source, try searching for the author and title in Dragon OneSearch.

If we do not own the item or it is not in any of our databases, don't fear, as we have a very efficient and quick Interlibrary Loan Service.

Don't only look at what has been written recently on your topic. Although currency of information is important, there may be a seminal, highly important work written years ago that helped inform the research.

 

Step Three: Changing Topic or Focus If Needed

Patience and flexibility are both needed as you conduct research.  You may find that your topic needs to change or be refined. That's okay and very common.You can never be sure of what you may find. You may find too much and need to narrow your focus, or too little and need to broaden your focus. Sometimes a total change of topic may not be necessary, but some other aspect of the topic is more interesting or manageable. Consulting your instructor when you get to that stage may be important, especially if you have already agreed on a topic.

Think critically and evaluate. Is the process going they way you want? Are you finding what you need? If not, reevaluate. Make an appointment with a librarian or your instructor if you are stuck.

Remember that the research process is iterative. In other words, although we have labeled steps in order, you sometimes have to go back and repeat a step. This is natural as you are learning more about your topic as you go.

 

Step Four: Adding Citations and Creating References List

Use RefWorks (described in another tab) to keep track of your searches, sources and to help you generate a references list.

Consult online and other help for in text citation formats as well as works cited/bibliography/references list. A tab on this libguide will help with this.

It is crucial that you correctly cite your sources for many reasons. First of all, it is ethical to give credit to the sources you use. Second, it is a requirement of your thesis, dissertation or project to correctly do this. Third, as a scholar, you are contributing to the body  of scholarship and you want your readers to be able to locate the sources you use.

 

Step Five: Synthesize Your Thoughts

So you have spent a great deal of time doing your research, found the best sources and you are ready to write. The research process does not end with the research. The goal is to share your own take and insights. Have you answered your research question? What does it mean? What have you found out?

When you synthesize, you draw conclusions about the findings from the literature you have found so that you can identify how the literature addresses your research question.

This document on Synthesizing Research from Augusta University is an excellent explanation and guide through the synthesizing process.

 

MSUM Livingston Lord Library

The Library is a resource that is here for you as you conduct research, literature review, documentation, and other elements of your project, thesis or dissertation. Here are a few services we offer:

1. One-on-one research appointments with librarians:

•  One on One Research Appointment via Research Right Consultations where you will make an appointment with a librarian. Please try to ask for the appointment with three days notice.  This can be very helpful if you are struggling with search terms, scope, databases, etc. Let us help you get on track.
• Appointments with a specific librarian, especially if it is the liaison librarian for your college/program. Contact information for areas of library service and library faculty and staff can be found here.

2. Library Guides for all Distance Education and Graduate Students:

• Distance Library Services - We also have a helpful library guide for all Distance Education Students which will show you how to log in from campus, request interlibrary loan, and more.  It also will connect you with Travis Dolence, our Distance Learning Librarian.

3. A to Z Database List

• We offer a variety of databases that may be found on our A to Z Database list.

4. Libguides

• Libguides (Library Research Guides) are available for many of your graduate courses and programs. They are divided by subject and topic. Consult our Libguides List to see if we have one to help you select databases, search the catalog, and other resources. A few examples:

CNSA 605 - Counseling Research and Statistical Methods

ED 601 - Psychological Foundations of Education

ED 603 - Methods of Research

Master of Healthcare Administration Introduction

PSY 635 - Research Seminar 1 in School Psychology

5. Interlibrary Loan

• Interlibrary Loan is a critical service available to all students, faculty and staff at MSUM. During your research process you will definitely need to take advantage of this service, as it is impossible for any one library to hold every article or book you need. Thankfully, our interlibrary loan process is easy, quick and efficient, and free for you. Do not ever pay for articles or resources. 9.999 times out of 10, our library can get the resource you need.

• In general, any item held by a library in the U.S. may be requested. However, some items may be more difficult to get ahold of than others and often take longer to arrive.

• Requesting Interlibrary Loan is simple through our Dragon OneSearch and is also almost seamless in many of our databases.

• You may also fill out the Interlibrary Loan Form if the database or catalog you are using does not have an interlibrary loan feature.

• When your item is available, you will receive email notification. When requesting articles, they will generally be delivered directly to your email as a PDF.

• If the item is a book or media item, you need to add a comment on your request that you are a Distance Student. Then we will know to mail the item to your address on file.

• Consult  this page on Interlibrary Loan for Distance Students.