• Alternate Music Press : an online archive
• AllMusic
AllMusic is a comprehensive and in-depth resource for finding out more about the albums, bands, musicians and songs you love.
On AllMusic you'll find:
In-Depth Information about your favorite albums, musicians and songs
Reviews of upcoming and classic albums including new releases
Ratings and picks of the recommended albums and songs within an artist's discography or tracks on an album
Staff picks of the albums our editors are into right now
Sound samples and streaming links to listen to the music
Personalized recommendations of albums that match your tastes
• American Composers Forum
The American Composers Forum facilitates an ecosystem of creativity through music. Our goal is to make composers, and the music they create, a vibrant and integral part of human culture. Programs reflect the diversity of our world, and we partner with a variety of ensembles and organizations to create opportunities for new work to flourish.
• American Federation of Musicians
80,000 musicians comprise the American Federation of Musicians of the United States and Canada (AFM). We perform in orchestras, backup bands, festivals, clubs and theaters—both on Broadway and on tour. AFM members also make music for films, TV, commercials and sound recordings. As the largest union of musicians in the world, we have the power to make the music industry work for musicians. Minnesota and North Dakota locals are: Duluth Musicians' Association Local #18, St Cloud Musicians Association Local #536, and The Twin Cities Musicians' Union Local #30-73 (includes all of North Dakota).
• American Gamelan Institute
Gamelan music of all kinds, in Indonesia and around the world, is supported and documented by the American Gamelan Institute, an organization devoted to publishing, recording, distributing, and making available information on all aspects of Indonesian performing arts and their international counterparts. AGI was founded in 1981 to support all those involved in the many traditions of gamelan, and to gather and share information in many forms.
• American Musicological Society
The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 as a non-profit organization to advance "research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship," a mission that has since evolved to include teaching and learning about music in addition to research. In 1951 the Society became a constituent member of the American Council of Learned Societies. At present, 3,500 individual members and 1,000 institutional subscribers from forty nations are on the rolls of the Society.
• Americans for the Arts
Americans for the Arts serves, advances, and leads the network of organizations and individuals who cultivate, promote, sustain, and support the arts in America. Founded in 1960, Americans for the Arts is the nation's leading nonprofit organization for advancing the arts and arts education.
• ASCAP
We are a professional organization of 725,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers, owned and run by its members, and the world leader in performance royalties, advocacy and service for music creators.
• Carmel (CA) Bach Festival
The Carmel Bach Festival (CBF) began in 1935 as a four-day series of concerts at the Sunset School Auditorium and the Carmel Mission Basilica. Over the years, it grew to a two-week celebration of concerts, recitals, master classes, lectures, and open rehearsals in July. The Festival’s mission is to celebrate the works, inspiration and ongoing influence of Johann Sebastian Bach worldwide by immersing audiences in a festival experience integrating music, education and ideas. Our Mission is to celebrate the works, inspiration, and ongoing influence of J. S. Bach worldwide by immersing audiences in a festival experience integrating music, education and ideas, and by meaningful community engagement throughout the year. Our Vision is to be a world class festival of music and ideas transcending the traditional boundaries of performance and presentation, both at the Festival and in communities, and to provide fresh musical contexts that spark the imagination, stimulate the mind and enrich people's lives in multi-faceted ways.
• TheBeatles.com
The official website.
• BMI
Since its founding in 1939, BMI’s goal has been to respect, nurture and represent songwriters so that their music can be heard. BMI has always supported the relationship between art and commerce and continues to help aspiring songwriters through workshops, showcases and our website while offering diverse award-winning content to our licensees.
• BobDylan.com
The official website
• Boosey & Hawkes, Inc.
The official website of the publisher
• The Boston Symphony Orchestra
The official website
• Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music
During the first two weeks of August each year, audiences are joined by both preeminent and emerging composers, an orchestra of dedicated professional musicians, and renowned guest artists from across the globe to give voice to works which are rarely more than a year or two old, and sometimes still wet on the page. The opportunity for composers to work with musicians skilled and enthusiastic about bringing these new works to life, in the beautiful coastal, college-town of Santa Cruz, California, makes this an artistic paradise. With a professional training workshop for early career conductors and composers, open rehearsals almost daily, educational programming for all ages, the Church Street Fair showcasing Santa Cruz County performers and artists, and much more, the Cabrillo Festival has dozens of opportunities for meaningful engagement.
• Canadian Music Periodical Index
The Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. Full texts of articles are not available from this site, but you can inquire about them in person at LAC or at your local library. The CMPI database includes over 37,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed. The CMPI database focusses on articles and news items touching on various aspects of music in Canada. In addition, since 1999, significant articles published in Canadian periodicals about international music and musicians have been added to the index.
• Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature (CHMTL)
The Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature (CHMTL) brings together various research activities and projects in the fields of music theory and historical musicology centered at the Jacobs School of Music, also in collaboration with other institutions in the United States and abroad. Our aim is to serve the scholarly community by gathering, researching and disseminating documents relevant to the history of musical thought. While primarily focused on music theory, our work also aims to document the deep links between music and the other arts and sciences, which have influenced intellectual life from the medieval era to the present.
• The Chamber Music Connection (CMC)
The Chamber Music Connection, located in Worthington, Ohio, provides an environment where student musicians of all ages and levels of experience can study and perform chamber music. CMC is a non-profit, performance-based, and equal opportunity educational program, Founder and Artistic Director Deborah Barrett Price—better known to students and faculty as Debbie—has maintained a policy of “no audition required” since starting the program in 1992. Students who apply to CMC are primarily string, piano, and woodwind players, but CMC accepts all types of instrumentalists and vocalists. Ensembles are formed based on age, previous experience, and their potential to learn from—and inspire—one another. Students must collaborate to achieve their musical goals. CMC is a place where people, music, and life connect.
• The Charles Ives Society
The Charles Ives Society is a not-for-profit organization that was formed to stimulate public interest in the music of Charles Ives (1874-1954) and to include and encourage the performance, recording, and study of his work, and the publication of definitive editions.
Evolved from Choralist, the first email distribution list for choral music, ChoralNet is the professional networking site for the global online choral community. Here are forums, choral organizations, choirs, resources, and the latest news of interest to the choral world. You can become part of the ChoralNet community by registering, joining online discussions, and submitting links, You can also volunteer your time to make ChoralNet better as there is always something that a volunteer working behind the scenes can do to make all this possible. ChoralNet is operated by the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA).
• ChoralWiki : home of the Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL)
The Choral Public Domain Library (CPDL), is an Internet-based free sheet music website which specializes in choral music. Begun in December 1998, CPDL is one of the world's largest free sheet music sites. The goal of CPDL is to host a large collection of music scores and other supporting files (such as midi or other sound files) which can be freely downloaded and used. Most of the scores on CPDL are modern editions based on older works whose copyright has lapsed (or which are otherwise in the public domain), but some scores are newly composed and offered for download by the composer.
• Classical String Quartets / Digital Collections / Duke Digital Repository
The string quartet, for two violins, viola and violoncello, was one of the most widely-cultivated genres of chamber music during the Classical period, with the Viennese masters Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven all contributing substantially to the literature. The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University has about forty collections of string quartets in parts dating from this time (about 1770-1840), most, though not all complete, and representing composers whose works are rarely found in modern editions. Digitization of these parts makes newly available for performance, study and recording a large and varied repertoire of works for this instrumental ensemble.
• The Cleveland Orchestra
The official website
• The Colonial Music Institute
The CMI is grounded upon primary research enlightened by interdisciplinary scholarship, disseminated through scholarly writing, authentic performances, and sound recordings made to the highest standards. Founded in 1999 we are now in our 19th year of promoting and encouraging the understanding of early American history through music.
• Corsair: the online catalog of the Pierpont Morgan Library
Named after Pierpont Morgan's yacht, CORSAIR is a single database providing unified access to over 250,000 records for medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, rare and reference books, literary and historical manuscripts, music scores, ancient seals and tablets, drawings, prints, and other art objects. Records continue to be added for the balance of the collection as well as for new acquisitions.
Document Record’s mission began, in 1985, as persevering and make permanently available a vast wealth of Afro American recordings made from 1893 through to the mid-20th century.
• The encyclopedia of music in Canada https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/encyclopedia-of-music-in-canada
The Encyclopedia of Music in Canada, comprising over 3100 articles and 500 illustrations, was the first music encyclopedia published in Canada. Entries include biographies of Canadian musicians, and histories of organizations involved with any facet of music in Canada. National topics such as Inuit music, piano building, awards, education, instrument collections and folk music are treated, as are music activities in Canadian cities and Canada's musical relations with other countries. Bibliographies, discographies, lists of compositions, and cross-references to other articles are included, and index entries locate subjects mentioned in the articles.
• European American Music Distributors Company
European American Music Distributors Company is a member of the Schott Music Group.
• The Fargo-Moorhead Symphony Orchestra
The official web site
• The Glenn Gould Archive
This site was developed by Library and Archives Canada, which is the official repository for the archives of the late concert pianist, Glenn Gould. A supremely gifted artist and Canada's most renowned classical musician of the 20th century, Gould was a recording artist, radio and television broadcaster and producer, writer and an outspoken apologist for the electronic media. It is no longer updated.
• The Grammys©
The official website
• The Hector Berlioz Website
Available in English and French, this personal site is devoted to the music, life and works of this great figure. Created, funded and authored by two British academics, the site gives a panoramic view of Berlioz’s life and art, and seeks to recreate the context in which he worked. It also presents regularly updated news on everything which concerns Berlioz: performances of his music world-wide, bibliography, discography, reviews of live performances and contributions from regular visitors to the site.
• International Alliance for Women in Music
The International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM) is an international membership organization of women and men dedicated to fostering and encouraging the activities of women in music, particularly in the areas of musical activity such as composing, performing, and research in which gender discrimination is an historic and ongoing concern. IAWM members engage in efforts to increase the programming of music by female composers, to combat discrimination against female musicians, including as symphony orchestra members, and to include accounts of the contributions of women musicians in university music curricula and textbooks.
• The International Computer Music Association
The International Computer Music Association is an international affiliation of individuals and institutions involved in the technical, creative, and performance aspects of computer music. It serves composers, engineers, researchers and musicians who are interested in the integration of music and technology.
• International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP): Free Sheet Music PDF Download
We at the IMSLP believe that music should be something that is easily accessible for everyone. To this end, we have created the IMSLP in order to provide music scores free of charge to anyone who has internet access. IMSLP will always be freely accessible.
• The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies
Our mission is to serve as principal resource for Beethoven studies in the United States
• IRCAM (Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique)
Institut de Recherche et de Coordination Acoustique/Musique at the George Pompidou Centre in Paris.
• Jazz Institute of Chicago
Founded in 1969, the Jazz Institute of Chicago promotes and nurtures jazz in Chicago. We do this by providing jazz education, developing and supporting musicians, building audiences and fostering a thriving jazz scene.
• The Journal of Music
The Journal of Music is an online music magazine based in Ireland and read worldwide. Founded by musician Toner Quinn in 2000, it began as a bimonthly print publication and subsequently won the Utne Independent Press Award for Arts Coverage in Washington DC. In 2010, the Journal moved fully online and now has over two hundred thousand readers worldwide. The magazine covers a wide range of genres, particularly classical, contemporary, traditional, folk, indie, opera, electronic, jazz, improvised, and alternative popular music.
• The JUNO Awards
What started as the RPM Gold Leaf Awards in 1964 by RPM editor and publisher Walt Grealis and record label executive Stan Klees, soon became The JUNO Awards in 1971. Named in tribute to Pierre Juneau, the first chairperson of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC), the JUNO Awards were founded to raise the public profile and recognition of musical artists in Canada.
• KissThisGuy.com
A website devoted to misheard and misunderstood lyrics.
• The Kurt Weill Foundation for Music
The Kurt Weill Foundation for Music, Inc. administers, promotes, and perpetuates the legacies of Kurt Weill and Lotte Lenya. It encourages broad dissemination and appreciation of Weill's music through support of performances, productions, recordings, and scholarship, and it fosters understanding of Weill's and Lenya's lives and work within diverse cultural contexts. Building upon the legacies of both, it nurtures talent, particularly in the creation, performance, and study of musical theater in its various manifestations and media.
• Ladyslipper Music
Ladyslipper is a North Carolina non-profit, tax-exempt organization which has been involved in many facets of women’s music, and most specifically the Women’s Music & Culture Movement, since 1976. Our basic purpose has consistently been to heighten public awareness of the achievements and recordings by women artists and musicians — especially the thousands of incredibly talented independent artists whose recordings were often overlooked and hard to find. In 2018 we are transitioning our website to an information and archive website only, because availability — of both physical recordings and digital music — has increased so exponentially across the globe.
• The London Symphony Orchestra
The official website
• Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra
The official web site
• Mainly Mozart Festival, San Diego
Our mission is to enrich the lives of today’s and tomorrow’s passionate music lovers by connecting them to the genius and innovation of Mozart and the Masters, to world-class musicians and music-making, and to each other.
• The Mendocino Music Festival
Established in 1986, the Mendocino Music Festival was the dream of Allan Pollack, Susan Waterfall and former principal bassoonist of the San Francisco Symphony, Walter Green. The Festival is a magical blend of fine music by outstanding performers in one of the most enchanting sites in Northern California. Evenings include orchestra concerts, Big Band, chamber music ensembles, dance, blues, jazz, world, folk, bluegrass and popular contemporary music. Daytime concerts include lecture/recitals at the Piano Series, a performance by participants in the Emerging Artists Program, and small concerts in intimate venues throughout the historic town of Mendocino.
• The Metropolitan Opera (New York City)
The official website
• The Millay Colony for the Arts
The Millay Colony is an artists residency program in Upstate New York. We welcome 6-7 visual artists, writers and composers each month between April and November. We offer a number of flexible residency formats. all including a private bedroom and studio as well as all meals. We welcome artists of all ages, from all cultures and communities, and in all stages of their career. We offer ample time to work in a gorgeous atmosphere, organizing everything an artist needs for maximum productivity.
• The Minnesota Orchestra
The official website
• Mostly Mozart Festival, NYC
The official website
• Music Sales Classical
Vendor for music published by Schirmer, Choudens Editeur Musique, Edition Wlhelm Hansen, Editions Musicales Transatlantiques, Le chant du monde, Chester Music, Unión Musical Ediciones, Novello, and Alphonse Leduc Éditions Musicales
• Music Teachers National Association
For well over a century, MTNA has been the backbone for a collaborative community of music-teaching professionals, connecting both the seasoned educator and those at the beginning of their career. MTNA membership does more than simply complement your career as a music professional—it supports, supplements and shapes it. It empowers music teachers nationwide to become better educators through networking, leadership, mentoring and educational opportunities.
• Music Treasures Consortium (Library of Congress)
The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship. The Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of many libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions. The Library of Congress is hosting the consortium Web site which gives bibliographic information on each item; access to the digital items is provided through links to the holding library's own Web site. Since each library provides bibliographic information for its items, the amount of information in each record may vary according to each institution's practice. Similarly, the interface and tools for each digital item will vary according to institution.
• Mutopia Project
The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain. A team of volunteers typesets the music using LilyPond software. We also offer a growing number of modern editions, arrangements and new music. The respective editors, arrangers and composers have chosen to make these works freely available.
• National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences
The Recording Academy represents the voices of performers, songwriters, producers, engineers, and all music professionals. Dedicated to ensuring the recording arts remain a thriving part of our shared cultural heritage, the Academy honors music's history while investing in its future through the GRAMMY Museum, advocates on behalf of music creators, supports music people in times of need through MusiCares, and celebrates artistic excellence through the GRAMMY Awards — music's only peer-recognized accolade and highest achievement. As the world's leading society of music professionals, we work year-round to foster a more inspiring world for creators.
• National Association for Music Education
National Association for Music Education (NAfME), among the world’s largest arts education organizations, is the only association that addresses all aspects of music education. NAfME advocates at the local, state, and national levels; provides resources for teachers, parents, and administrators; hosts professional development events; and offers a variety of opportunities for students and teachers. The Association orchestrates success for millions of students nationwide and has supported music educators at all teaching levels for more than a century. Since 1907, NAfME has worked to ensure that every student has access to a well-balanced, comprehensive, and high-quality program of music instruction taught by qualified teachers. NAfME’s activities and resources have been largely responsible for the establishment of music education as a profession, for the promotion and guidance of music study as an integral part of the school curriculum, and for the development of the National Standards for Arts Education.
• National Association of Music Merchants
NAMM's mission is to strengthen the music products industry and promote the pleasures and benefits of making music.
• National Association of Schools of Music
Founded in 1924, the National Association of Schools of Music (NASM) is an organization of schools, conservatories, colleges, and universities with approximately 639 accredited institutional members. It establishes national standards for undergraduate and graduate degrees and other credentials for music and music-related disciplines, and provides assistance to institutions and individuals engaged in artistic, scholarly, educational, and other music-related endeavors.
• National Endowment for the Arts
The National Endowment for the Arts is an independent federal agency that funds, promotes, and strengthens the creative capacity of our communities by providing all Americans with diverse opportunities for arts participation.
The official website
• New York Philharmonic Leon Levy Digital Archives
The New York Philharmonic Leon Levy Digital Archives was launched in February 2011, and currently comprises more than 1.3 million pages, including more than 14,000 printed programs, marked conducting scores, business documents, and photographs. When completed, the online collection will contain every document in the New York Philharmonic Archives from 1842 through 1970, more than 3 million pages — including correspondence, marked scores and parts, contracts, and minutes from meetings of the Board of Directors — as well as all public documents from 1970 through today, including marketing materials, press releases, and annual reports.
• New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
The official website
• The Official Leonard Bernstein Site
• The Ojai Music Festival
At its inception in 1947, under the guidance of Festival founder John Bauer and conductor Thor Johnson, the Festival featured a balance of classics and more contemporary fare. By the time Lawrence Morton took over as Artistic Director in 1954 the emphasis had shifted to new music and Ojai soon became the showcase as well as a home-away-from-home for such 20th century giants as Luciano Berio, Pierre Boulez, Elliott Carter, Aaron Copland, Lou Harrison, and Olivier Messiaen, not to mention two Southern California “locals”: Arnold Schoenberg and Igor Stravinsky. It was Morton who established the tradition of rotating Music Directors and with this innovation each year’s Festival became the reflection of a succession of larger-than-life personalities, including Robert Craft (joined in 1955 and 1956 by Stravinsky), Copland, Ingolf Dahl, the late Lukas Foss, Boulez, Peter Maxwell-Davies, as well as such rising stars as Michael Tilson Thomas, Calvin Simmons, Kent Nagano, John Adams, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Pierre-Laurent Aimard, and David Robertson. Through the years Ojai’s Music Directors have invited distinguished soloists, first-rate chamber ensembles, and world-class orchestras to join them in exploring the intersection between new music and everything from jazz and improvisation to electronics and computers; dance, theater, and experimental staging to social and political issues, not to mention repertory that might go back to the Middle Ages or reach across the globe.
• The 100 most important American musical works of the 20th century (NPR site)
Throughout the year 2000, NPR presented the stories behind 100 of the most important American musical works of the 20th century. These special features cover music from a wide variety of genres -- classical, jazz, rock'n'roll, country, R&B, musical theatre and film scores. NPR 100 stories aired on All Things Considered, Morning Edition, and NPR's weekend news magazine programs. You'll find on-demand audio of three NPR feature stories -- one from Morning Edition and two from All Things Considered -- on the NPR 100, plus the complete NPR 100 list arranged alphabetically with the air date and the original audio of each piece.
• The Ordway
The Ordway, recognized as one of the U.S.’s leading not-for-profit performing arts centers, is home to a wide variety of performances throughout the year that encompass the finest in American musical theater, world music, dance, and vocal artists in its Music Theater and Concert Hall. In addition, each year the Ordway presents its Flint Hills Family Festival and serves over 50,000 children and adults through its Ordway Education programs.
• PD info : public domain (music) information project
The Public Domain Information Project was organized in 1986 to provide information about public domain music. We provide carefully researched lists of Public Domain Music titles, PD Sheet Music Reprints and PD Sheet Music Books. We are proud to offer the Music2Hues and Sound Ideas professional Royalty Free Music Libraries on CD and for Download. PD Reference Materials, Digital PD Sheet Music on CD, and additional Royalty Free Sound Recordings by a carefully selected group of independent musicians are also found on this website. If you're looking for information on using public domain music, this is the place to start your search. The quick rule of thumb is that music or lyrics written and published in the United States in 1922 or earlier are public domain in the USA. It is our goal to teach you how to understand and fully respect legal copyright protection, yet identify and freely use music that is truly in the public domain.
• Perfect Sound Forever : an online music magazine
The online music magazine with warped perspectives
• Philip Glass - Official Web Site
• Really Useful Group
The Really Useful Group is wholly owned by Andrew Lloyd Webber and exists to produce, license and promote his shows and music around the globe. Whether it is a professional production of The Phantom of the Opera or a school production of Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat or School of Rock, your journey starts here. We represent Andrew’s works in theatre, film, television, music publishing and all other forms of licensing.
• The Rebecca Clarke Society
Rebecca Clarke achieved what she called “my one little whiff of success” in 1919 when her viola Sonata tied for first place in a competition sponsored by Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge. Clarke lived much of her life in the US, although she was born and educated in Great Britain. Striking for its passion and power, her music spans a range of 20th-century styles including Impressionism, post-Romantic, and neo-Classical. Although she wrote nearly 100 works (including songs, choral works, chamber pieces and music for solo piano), only 20 pieces were published in her lifetime, and by the time of her death in 1979, at age 93, all of these were long out of print. The goal of the Rebecca Clarke Society, Inc. is to honor the life and work of composer and violist Rebecca Clarke (1886-1979) by promoting interest in her and her music. We encourage and support performances, recordings and publications, and scholarship concerning Clarke and her music. Founded in 2000, we are a recognized non-profit organization.
• Recording Industry Association of America
The Recording Industry Association of America® (RIAA) is the trade organization that supports and promotes the creative and financial vitality of the major music companies. Its members comprise the most vibrant record industry in the world, investing in great artists to help them reach their potential and connect to their fans. Nearly 85% of all legitimate recorded music produced and sold in the United States is created, manufactured or distributed by RIAA members. In support of this mission, the RIAA works to protect the intellectual property and First Amendment rights of artists and music labels; conduct consumer, industry and technical research; and monitor and review state and federal laws, regulations and policies. RIAA also certifies Gold®, Platinum®, Multi-Platinum™, Diamond and Los Premios De Oro y Platino™ sales and streaming awards.
• The Red Hot Jazz Archive : a history of jazz before 1930
Redhotjazz.com was a crown jewel of the early internet. Starting in the mid ’90s it made the offline discographies and biographies of early jazz available to the online public. It also hosted thousands of audio files donated by people who were digitizing their 78 RPM record collections, making many obscure recordings available for the first time. This all started long before Youtube and even before Wikipedia was much more than an idea.
The man behind the Red Hot Jazz Archive was named Scott Alexander. In the mid 2000s he attempted an open source model before the site was abandoned around 2008. Despite several years of effort we have been unable to find him or to secure the domain name and make the site itself available again. In December the site went dark for good, making that no longer possible.
As a last resort we are duplicating the content of the Red Hot Jazz Archive from a snapshot saved in Archive.org’s Wayback Machine. Most of the links on these pages currently bring you to that snapshot. We will be changing those links to correspond with our own pages as we make them. We are moving in roughly alphabetical order.
• The Rest is Noise : Books, articles, and a blog by the music critic of The New Yorker
• RILM: Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale
Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) documents and disseminates music research worldwide. Known for its flagship publication, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, a comprehensive international bibliography of writings on music covering publications from the early 19th century to the present (also available with a full-text enhancement of over 200 journals), RILM produces the annually expanding full-text repository RILM Music Encyclopedias and the Index to Printed Music. RILM maintains its own platform with advanced search and browse capabilities on which it hosts the authoritative encyclopedia MGG Online, which offers comprehensive coverage of all fields of music studies.
• RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales
The International Inventory of Musical Sources - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) - is an international, non-profit organization which aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
• Rock & Roll Hall of Fame + Museum
The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame's mission is to engage, teach and inspire through the power of rock and roll.
• San Francisco Opera
The official website
• Santa Fe (New Mexico) Opera
The official website
The Society for Music Theory promotes the development of and engagement with music theory as a scholarly and pedagogical discipline. We construe this discipline broadly as embracing all approaches, from conceptual to practical, and all perspectives, including those of the scholar, listener, composer, performer, teacher, and student. The Society is committed to fostering diversity, inclusivity, and gender equity in the field.
• Society for Seventeenth-Century Music
The Society for Seventeenth-Century Music is dedicated to the study and performance of seventeenth-century music and related arts.
• Southern Mosaic: The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip
This recording trip is an ethnographic field collection that includes nearly 700 sound recordings, as well as fieldnotes, dust jackets, and other manuscripts documenting a three-month, 6,502-mile trip through the southern United States. Beginning in Port Aransas, Texas, on March 31, 1939, and ending at the Library of Congress on June 14, 1939. This collection consists of approximately 25 hours of audio recordings on 267 acetate recording discs and 1 linear foot of print materials. The online presentation provides access to 686 audio titles and page images as well as transcribed, searchable text for all the print material in the collection. This includes the 1939 Annual Report for the Archive of American Folk Song, a 4-page trip report, 307 pages of fieldnotes, 57 items of correspondence, 37 song text transcriptions, and the 104 extant dust jackets from the recording discs with handwritten notes.
• Teatro alla Scala, Milan
The official website.
• The Unheard Beethoven
This website endeavors to make all of Beethoven’s unrecorded music readily accessible to the public.
• Viola Jokes
There are pages for jokes about other instruments, too, but these are the best.