• 19th-century American Sheet Music
The Nineteenth Century American Sheet Music Collection at the UNC-Chapel Hill Music Library includes approximately 3,500 popular vocal and instrumental titles from the 1830s to the end of the century. This site contains catalog descriptions and digital images of the individual pieces in the collection. It was acquired as 125 bound volumes which were individually gathered by the original owners of the music, often young women who wanted to collect their favorite pieces of sheet music into one volume. In some cases, the original owner's name was embossed on the cover.
• 19th-century California Sheet Music
A virtual library of some 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs. Images of every printed page of sheet music from eleven locations have been scanned at 400 dpi, in color where indicated. In 2007 some 700 sheet music editions were added from the library of the Society of California Pioneers.
• Acadia Early Music Archive (last updated 2009)
• African American Sheet Music (Brown University)
The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University. The full collection consists of approximately 500,000 items, of which perhaps 250,000 are currently available for use. It is one of the largest collections of sheet music in any library in the United States. The sheet music, primarily vocal music of American imprint, dates from the 18th century to the present day, with the largest concentration of titles in the period 1840-1950.
• Classical String Quartets / Digital Collections / Duke Digital Repository
The string quartet, for two violins, viola and violoncello, was one of the most widely-cultivated genres of chamber music during the Classical period, with the Viennese masters Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven all contributing substantially to the literature. The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University has about forty collections of string quartets in parts dating from this time (about 1770-1840), most, though not all complete, and representing composers whose works are rarely found in modern editions. Digitization of these parts makes newly available for performance, study and recording a large and varied repertoire of works for this instrumental ensemble.
• The Danish National Digital Sheet Music Archive (The Royal Library)
Selected works from the Music Collections are being re-published in digital form in order to provide internet access to the collections of the Royal Library. Both manuscripts and printed music have been included: some are published expressly for printing, others are primarily intended for study.
• Historic American Sheet Music=
The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
• International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP): Free Sheet Music PDF Download
We at the IMSLP believe that music should be something that is easily accessible for everyone. To this end, we have created the IMSLP in order to provide music scores free of charge to anyone who has internet access. IMSLP will always be freely accessible.
• Juilliard Manuscript Collection
The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions, which were donated to the school by Juilliard Board Chairman Bruce Kovner.
• Music autographs from Robert Schumann
Manuscripts of Robert Schumann, digitized by the University of Bonn (Germany).
• The Music Technology Learning Center
The Music Technology Learning Center (MTLC) was established to assist students in the transition from self-experienced, middle and high school music programs to professional and or higher education music related opportunities. Many students desiring to further their interest have few options presented to them and generally eliminate the musical option and lose the fulfillment it provides. Particularly, MTLC reinforces and integrates STEM/STEAM concepts.
• Music Treasures Consortium (Library of Congress)
The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship. The Music Treasures Consortium is an alliance of many libraries with holdings of unique music resources, including music manuscripts, prints, and first and early editions. The Library of Congress is hosting the consortium Web site which gives bibliographic information on each item; access to the digital items is provided through links to the holding library's own Web site. Since each library provides bibliographic information for its items, the amount of information in each record may vary according to each institution's practice. Similarly, the interface and tools for each digital item will vary according to institution.
• Neue Mozart-Ausgabe Online
The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use.
• Sibley Music Library Collection (University of Rochester)
Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
• Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music
The Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music (ISSN 2330-2429) is a service offered by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music to its members and to the musical community at large. It presents new editions of seventeenth-century compositions that have remained unpublished or that are not available commercially. WLSCM hopes to include editions of all types, from short lute and keyboard pieces to selections from (or even entire) operas and oratorios. When available, sound recordings of these works will accompany the editions.
• The Aaron Copland Collection
Celebrating the centennial of the birth of the American composer Aaron Copland (1900-1990), the multi-format Aaron Copland Collection, from which the online collection derives, spans the years 1910 to 1990 and includes approximately 400,000 items documenting the multifaceted life of an extraordinary person who was composer, performer, teacher, writer, conductor, commentator, and administrator. It comprises both manuscript and printed music, personal and business correspondence, diaries, writings, scrapbooks, programs, newspaper and magazine clippings, photographs, awards, books, sound recordings, and motion pictures.
• Arnold Schönberg Center
The Arnold Schönberg Center, established in 1998 in Vienna, is a unique repository of Arnold Schönberg’s archival legacy and a cultural center that is open to the public.
• Chopin Early Editions
The Chopin collection at the University of Chicago Library includes over 400 first and early printed editions of musical compositions by Frédéric Chopin, maintained in the Special Collections Research Center. Because Chopin's works were often published concurrently in several countries with variant texts, scholars can establish a sequence of publication by comparing a range of printings. Chopin Early Editions consist of digitized images of all scores in the University of Chicago Library's Chopin collection. Users can search or browse Chopin Early Editions via a variety of data points, including titles, genres, and plate numbers.
• The Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music
DIAMM (the Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts. We present images and metadata for thousands of manuscripts on this website. We also provide a home for scholarly resources and editions, undertake digital restoration of damaged manuscripts and documents, publish high-quality facsimiles, and offer our expertise as consultants.
• The Glenn Gould Archive
This site was developed by Library and Archives Canada, which is the official repository for the archives of the late concert pianist, Glenn Gould. A supremely gifted artist and Canada's most renowned classical musician of the 20th century, Gould was a recording artist, radio and television broadcaster and producer, writer and an outspoken apologist for the electronic media. It is no longer updated.
• The Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies
Our mission is to serve as principal resource for Beethoven studies in the United States
• The Leonard Bernstein Collection
Bernstein came to national prominence virtually overnight through a last-minute conducting debut with the New York Philharmonic, when he substituted for Bruno Walter on November 14, 1943. He was twenty-five. Because Bernstein was a national figure from the very beginning of his career, his friend and teacher Helen Coates, who became his secretary in 1944, maintained his papers meticulously and extensively annotated many of them. The Bernstein Collection therefore offers a remarkably complete record of his life and is one of the Music Division's richest repositories in the variety and scope of its materials.
The Music Division began acquiring the Bernstein Collection in 1953 and continuing to 1967, when Bernstein himself donated music manuscripts for The Age of Anxiety, Candide, Chichester Psalms, Fancy Free, Jeremiah, Trouble in Tahiti, West Side Story, Wonderful Town, and other works.In 1991, Helen Coates, Bernstein's longtime friend and secretary, left ninety-four letters, music manuscripts and other items related to Bernstein to the Library in her will. In the same year an additional six hundred letters that had been in the possession of Helen Coates were also given to the Library by the Springate Corporation, representatives of the Bernstein estate. In 1993, the Springate Corporation greatly increased the size of the Bernstein Collection by giving the Library hundreds of thousands of additional items, and the estate has continued to donate items since then. The collection now includes music manuscripts, correspondence, writings of all types, photographs, commercial and non-commercial recordings and audio-visual materials (now housed in the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division), business papers, programs, fan mail, date books, and realia.
• Lionel Hampton Collection
The materials in this collection span most of Lionel Hampton's musical career and include personal papers and business records, photographs, musical compositions, audiotape master recordings (in a variety of formats), and six musical instruments, including a vibraphone.
