Skip to main content

Library Services: Course Reserves Collection

Copyright Notice

Copyright law (Title 17, U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials.  In accepting photocopies to be placed in the Reserve Materials Collection, library staff assume any photocopies have been made in compliance with Fair Use provisions of Section 107.  It is the responsibility of the person placing items on reserve to obtain permission from copyright owners to photocopy in excess of Fair Use guidelines.  For more information, please see Copyright Information for Course Reserves.

The Course Reserves Collection is a place of the library where faculty can place high demand items in a central location. This collection includes both library owned and faculty owned items such as books, DVDs, digital cameras, study guides, and more. Instructors placing materials on reserve are responsible for obtaining copyright permission when necessaryLimited loan periods ensure that the students enrolled in a particular course have easy access to whatever information resource their professor wants them to use. The library's Course Reserves Collection is located behind the Main Circulation Desk.

 

Fair Use Guidelines for Photocopies


  • Photocopies of up to 10% of a book may be placed on Reserve.
  • One article from one journal may be placed on Reserve.
  • The number of copies should be reasonable in light of the number of enrolled students.
  • All Reserve copies must include a full bibliographic citation as well as a copy of the copyright notice from the original source. If the original copyright notice cannot be located, the Library will add a standard notice to the material (Notice: This material may be protected by Copyright Law (17 U.S. Code)).
  • Access to copies should be limited to students currently enrolled in the class.
  • Access to copies shall be terminated at the end of the class term (Reserve periods greater than one semester do not qualify as “fair use,” and require copyright permission.).

Putting Items on Reserve


Complete the Reserve Request List form (must have Adobe Acrobat Reader to use the online format) for each course and bring it along with the items to the Circulation Desk. Examples of student coursework must have the signed Permission to Use Student Work form.These forms can also be obtained at the desk. Reserve requests will be processed in the order they are received. Please allow 2-5 business days for processing. We prefer that faculty (or their student assistants) retrieve library materials that are to be placed on reserve. Note that any faculty owned items will have a Reserve call number, barcode, and loan period label affixed to it. Once processing is finished, a copy of the form with be returned with the assigned Reserve call numbers. For questions, contact Cori Edgerton at 218-477-2342 or reserves@mnstate.edu.

Removing Items from Reserve


At the end of each semester or as indicated on the Reserve Request List form, items are removed from the Course Reserves Collection. Personal copies will be returned through campus mail and library owned items returned to the stacks. If faculty chose to remove their items off Course Reserves before the semester, please complete the Reserve To Be Removed form, bring it to the Circulation Desk, and pick up the items. Copies of the form can also be found at the desk.