LibGuides: STL 226: Social Studies for Elementary Majors: Finding Articles (Primary & Secondary sources)

Newspaper, magazine and journal articles

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
New York Times (ProQuest, 1851-four year lag) This link opens in a new window
This historical New York Times newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage is 1851 with 3-4 embargo. See Newspapers – U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) for current articles.
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub This link opens in a new window
A searchable website of Minnesota newspapers published between 1856 and today.
Newspapers - U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
News in all formats from around the US.
Readers' Guide Retro - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retro is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Readers' Guide Retro covers the years 1890 - 1982
JSTOR Full Text Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books. Journals have extensive archives but often delay access to recent issues by 4-5 years.
Subject areas include African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Sociology, and Statistics.

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Education Research Complete - Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Journal articles about early childhood to higher education, multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books, and curriculum guides in education research.
The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
MasterFILE Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
General interest magazines, books, documents, and images.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts that feature a wide variety of content, ranging from exercise, to sports medicine, to dance. Health education and physical therapy are also covered.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.

Dragon OneSearch