The Minnesota State University Moorhead Office of Diversity & Inclusion offers four cultural and identity centers open to all students, faculty, staff, and members of the community. Through a variety of programming and specialized resources, our centers help build a campus community that is diverse, inclusive, globally aware and just.
No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination under any educational program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance. -Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972
Minnesota State University Moorhead (MSUM) is dedicated to embedding and supporting diversity in every facet of the institution. Creating an opportunity for students, staff, and faculty to select the first, middle, and last name that best matches their self-identification is just one of many ways MSUM is committed to creating an inclusive environment for the campus community.
The Women’s Center offers a welcoming environment with couches, a table and chairs for studying or meeting, a reading chair and ottoman, and computers. Our resource section includes free safer sex supplies and menstrual products, information on campus and community resources, plus knitting/crocheting and craft supplies for your creative side. Students, faculty, and staff are welcome to spend time between classes, enjoy snacks and a cup of tea or coffee, connect with others, and browse our library and free resources. Our staff provide welcoming, non-judgmental service and referrals for the whole MSUM community.
This book provides an introductory overview of the Salem witch trials, which is followed by an array of primary sources that tell the Salem story in the words of both the accusers and the victims of that episode.
Journal articles and books, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Subject areas include African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Sociology, and Statistics.
Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
The database provides 255 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more.
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more. 4 volumes.
A comprehensive encyclopedia tracing the history of the women's rights movement in the United States from the American Revolution to the present day. 4 volumes.
Our work focuses on a range of issues, including protecting access to affordable contraception, protecting a woman’s ability to make personal, private decisions about pregnancy and abortion, and fighting pregnancy discrimination.
Through litigation, advocacy, and public education, the ACLU Women’s Rights Project pushes for change and systemic reform in institutions that perpetuate discrimination against women, focusing its work in the areas of employment, violence against women, and education.
We’ve led the fight for fair pay and economic opportunity for women — and the battle continues: Women still get just 82 cents for every dollar paid to a man, and men continue to dominate the top roles and highest-paying professions.
Anchored in feminist principles, we leverage deeply rooted relationships and technical expertise to equip movements with flexible financing and resources to maximize their impact. We educate and engage sector leaders including donors, policymakers, and the media to create favorable conditions for movements to thrive. And, we document and share learnings to strengthen activist efforts globally. By providing more to movements, we are shifting power towards women, girls, and all marginalized people worldwide.
Despite great strides made by the international women’s rights movement over many years, women and girls around the world are still married as children or trafficked into forced labor and sex slavery. They are refused access to education and political participation, and some are trapped in conflicts where rape is perpetrated as a weapon of war. Around the world, deaths related to pregnancy and childbirth are needlessly high, and women are prevented from making deeply personal choices in their private lives. Human Rights Watch is working toward the realization of women’s empowerment and gender equality—protecting the rights and improving the lives of women and girls on the ground.
The National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice.
The UN Secretary-General, Mr. António Guterres has stated that achieving gender equality and empowering women and girls is the unfinished business of our time, and the greatest human rights challenge in our world.
The Secretary’s Office of Global Women’s Issues (S/GWI) has a mandate to promote the rights and empowerment of women and girls through U.S. foreign policy. Headed by an Ambassador-at-Large, the office leads the Department’s efforts to empower women and girls in U.S. diplomacy, partnerships, and programs.
American Women's History: a Very Short Introduction by 
Defining Documents in World History: Women's History by 
Documents of the Salem Witch Trials (Eyewitness to History) by 
Gender Diversity and Non-Binary Inclusion in the Workplace by 
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by 
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by 
Women's Rights in the United States: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Issues, Events, and People by 
