Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AT 492 Senior Seminar - Hammerschmidt: Home

Purpose

This workshop and Library Guide is designed to help you do two things:

1. Refine and add to your annotated bibliography based on the literature review. Make sure you have done a thorough literature scan and have selected the best sources.

2. Use this information to create a poster or oral presentation at the MSUM Student Academic Conference.

Annotated Bibliography

What is an annotated bibliography?

  • An annotated bibliography provides an account of the research that has been done on a given topic.
  • Like any bibliography, an annotated bibliography is an alphabetical list of research sources.
  • In addition to bibliographic data, an annotated bibliography provides a concise summary of each source and some assessment of its value or relevance.
  • Depending on the assignment, an annotated bibliography may be one stage in a larger research project, or it may be an independent project standing on its own.

​Why is it important?

  • The purpose of an annotated bibliography is to reflect on the information you have read in your research and begin to synthesize the ideas you have gathered.
  • An annotated bibliography can often point others toward more sources on the topic that may be interesting or insightful for them.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Stacy Voeller
Contact:
LI 107

Office (218) 477-2348
Website