LibGuides: Sociology 350: Finding Articles

Sociology Databases

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Sociology research resource with gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racism, religion, and social work content.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of research and is composed over 779,000 research papers from over 362,000 researchers across 30 disciplines.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases (Useful for Research on All Topics)

SAGE Journals: Humanities and Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Sage offers some of the most globally used and highly cited journals across disciplines such as psychology, sociology, business management, health science, environment and education.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
JSTOR Full Text Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books. Journals have extensive archives but often delay access to recent issues by 4-5 years.
Subject areas include African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Sociology, and Statistics.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Important tip--uncheck button that says "include preview only material" to get to our content.
Education Research Complete - Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Journal articles about early childhood to higher education, multilingual education, health education and testing.

Peer Reviewed/Scholarly Articles

To determine if an article in a periodical is from a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal, in most databases, there is a "scholarly journal" or "peer reviewed" option to filter. In a nutshell, peer reviewed articles are in academic and research publishing.

In academic publishing, the goal of peer review is to assess the quality of articles submitted for publication in a scholarly journal. Before an article is deemed appropriate to be published in a peer-reviewed journal, it must undergo the following process:

The author of the article must submit it to the journal editor who forwards the article to experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
These impartial reviewers are charged with carefully evaluating the quality of the submitted manuscript.
The peer reviewers check the manuscript for accuracy and assess the validity of the research methodology and procedures.
If appropriate, they suggest revisions. If they find the article lacking in scholarly validity and rigor, they reject it.

· Because a peer-reviewed journal will not publish articles that fail to meet the standards established for a given discipline, peer-reviewed articles that are accepted for publication exemplify the best research practices in a field. (Source: Evaluating Information Sources: What Is A Peer-Reviewed Article? by Lloyd Sealy Library at the John Jay College of Criminal Justice). For more information:

http://guides.lib.jjay.cuny.edu/c.php?g=288333&p=1922599

UlrichsWeb This link opens in a new window
Publication information on journals, magazines, and newspapers.