LibGuides: Sociology 350: Reference Sources

Online Reference Materials

Blackwell dictionary of sociology a user's guide to sociological language
An electronic book accessible through the MSUM Library NetLibrary service.

Social Progress Index
The Social Progress Index uses non-economic measures to gauge the well-being of a country's inhabitants. Covers 99 percent of the world's population. The index consists of 52 indicators, divided into three major categories: basic human needs, foundations of well-being, and opportunity.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
An international, comprehensive reference tool for the field of Criminology and Criminal Justice. Covers Criminology and Criminal Justice in ten broad areas with leading researchers writing substantive contributions within their area of expertise.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work. The work also includes a comprehensive index and topical outline.

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Fedwa Malti-Douglas (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028661155
Publication Date: 2007
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more. 4 volumes.