Reference Sources - COMM 415: Teaching Methods for Communication - Hest - LibGuides at Minnesota State University Moorhead

General Reference Resources

Choice Reviews This link opens in a new window
Choice Reviews gives subscribers immediate access to a comprehensive archive of almost 200,000 reviews representing a quarter-century of scholarship.

Lexicool
Directory of "all" the online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet.
Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus
Online version of America's leading and most-trusted provider of language information.

Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
Source for career information. Covers hundreds of occupations and describes what they do, work environment, how to become one, pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Definitions, pronunciation, and history of English language words.
Statistical Abstract This link opens in a new window
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

GovInfo
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Contemporary Authors Online - Gale This link opens in a new window
Provides complete biographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series.
Updated monthly, Contemporary Authors allows users to search for an author by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal and career information, awards and honors, and more.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Literary commentary, analysis, and criticism.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Definitions, pronunciation, and history of English language words.

APA PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Includes information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, and guides to titles and multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature.

Digest of Education Statistics
The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
Condition of Education
This website is an integrated collection of the indicators and analyses published in The Condition of Education 2000–2009. Some indicators may have been updated since they appeared in print.