LibGuides: Subject Guide: Art: Finding Articles

Best Databases for Finding Articles About Art

Use to find articles and resources in the field of art.

Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Featuring full-text articles, indexing and abstracting of an international array of publications, Art Full Text™ is a comprehensive resource covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, architecture and much more.
Content Includes:

Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals dating back to 1995
High-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals dating as far back as 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals
Indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations
Indexing of nearly 200,000 art reproductions
A database-specific thesaurus
JSTOR Full Text Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books. Journals have extensive archives but often delay access to recent issues by 4-5 years.
Subject areas include African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Sociology, and Statistics.
Newspapers - U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
News in all formats from around the US.
New York Times (ProQuest, 1851-four year lag) This link opens in a new window
The Friday and Sunday New York Times usually have expanded art coverage. For more recent articles, go to their website, https://www.nytimes.com, or to Newspapers - Global Newsstream, above.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Search Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources in one location. Includes access to additional Oxford art titles, including the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and the Oxford Companion to Western Art.
MSUM's subscription allows three simultaneous users.

Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Art Magazine Collection Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and full text (including covers and ads) for Magazine Antiques (1922-2016), ARTnews (1902-2006) and Art in America (1913-2015). Provides a history of collecting in 20th century and a record of fine arts, art history, interior design, arts, and architecture in the 20th and 21st century.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary Databases (Useful for Research on All Topics)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
A to Z E-Journal Directory This link opens in a new window
Search MSUM Library's collection of online journals for electronic journals in your subject area.

Core Journals in Visual Arts (Thanks to Nicole Shibata at Cal State U Northridge for this box)

Studies in Art Education
Leonardo
Art Education
International Journal of Art & Design Education
Design and Culture
Digital Creativity
The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism
The Senses and Society
Third Text
October
History of Photography
International Journal of Education Through Art
Artforum International
Grey Room
The Art Bulletin
Visual Arts Research
Leonardo Electronic Almanac
Art History
Journal Of Design History
Photography and Culture

Source: Google Scholar Metrics