LibGuides: Subject Guide: Art: Websites

Arachne
Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes.

Archives of American Art
The Smithsonian has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.

Artcyclopedia
The guide to museum-quality art on the Internet.

AskART
AskART provides directory listings and links to approximately 1300 museums from around the world, dealers, auction houses, and an extensive list of artists in their collections.

AWA: Advancing Women Artists
A non-profit organization committed to identifying, restoring, and exhibiting artwork by women in Florence's museum storage.

AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research, and Exhibitions
A non-profit organization with the goal of creation, indexing, and distribution of information on women artists in the 20th Century. Originally in French.

Books with Full Text Online - MetPublications
Five decades of Met publications on art history available to read, download, and/or search for free.

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
An interdisciplinary research project centering on the classical tradition with a focus on Renaissance studies.

Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO)
CAMIO is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

Chazen Museum Collections
The Chazen Museum of Art contains over 20,000 works of art representing the entire spectrum of art history across culture, period, media, and genre. Browse by geographic region, object type, or century and search collections by keyword.

Digital Collection - Art Institute Chicago
Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.

Europeana
Provides access to over 50 million digitized items – books, music, artworks, and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to aid research.

Faces of Frida
A collaborative effort to store and make accessible the art and history of Frida Kahlo. Includes paintings, photos, museum exhibits, and personal history.

FirstVIEW
The Web's first runway fashion database offering comprehensive coverage encompassing runway, details, backstage, lookbooks, front row, street style, and promotional presentations.

Getty Research Portal
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.

Informe Design
Brings research from a vast array of reputable research sources to the design community to address the complex challenges faced by designers.

Inside Brazil's Museo Nacional
View artifacts and a virtual tour of the museum that was destroyed by fire in 2018.

National Endowment for the Arts
The independent federal agency whose funding and support gives Americans the opportunity to participate in the arts, exercise their imaginations, and develop their creative capacities.

National Portrait Gallery (London)
Features a Picture Library Search with information on approximately 10,000 works in which you can search for artist, sitter of by title or by NPG number. (In Advanced Search you can restrict your search to images available on web site.) There is an alphabetical list of artists, as well as an alphabetical list of sitters.

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
There is a Collection and Research Records Search and an Expanded Person Search. You can search for books, caricatures, collages, decorative arts, drawings, medals, paintings, photographs, prints, sculptures, silhouettes, and 'others'.

Web sites of Interest

Aperture Foundation
Aperture, a not-for-profit foundation, connects the photo community and its audiences with the most inspiring work, the sharpest ideas, and with each other—in print, in person, and online.
George Eastman House
International Museum of Photography and Film
National Geographic Image Collection
An unparalleled treasury of iconic images and groundbreaking photography, the National Geographic Image Collection gathers together more than 11 million images chronicling the world from the end of the 19th century to the first decade of the 21st.
Re-Title
re-title.com, an artist initiative founded in London in 2005, is the information resource for emerging and professional contemporary art, providing directory and publicity services for internationally focused artists and galleries.
Saatchi Art
Saatchi Art is a platform that allows emerging artists to showcase and sell their work and gives art lovers insider access to new talent from around the world.
SF Camerawork
SF Camerawork’s exhibitions are nationally recognized as a focal point for innovation, a pacesetter for new trends in the medium and a launching pad for artists’ careers. Our exhibitions present contemporary work in the photographic arts, as well as digital, video, and related visual image media. We have provided early exposure to a distinguished list of artists that includes Richard Barnes, Jim Campbell, Binh Danh, Graciela Iturbide, Todd Hido, Barbara Kruger, Richard Misrach, Shirin Neshat, Catherine Wagner, Carrie Mae Weems, Joel-Peter Witkin, and many others.
SITE Santa Fe
SITE Santa Fe is a leading international venue for artistic experimentation and curatorial innovation.
The American Museum of Photography
The Museum of Modern Art

Web sites of Interest

The Armory Show
New York City’s premier art fair and leading cultural destination for discovering and collecting the world’s most important 20th- and 21st-century art.
The Art Newspaper
An online and print publication that provides an unrivaled news service about the art world, fed by its network of more than 50 correspondents in more than 30 countries.
Art21 [website]
ART21 is a nonprofit dedicated to engaging audiences with contemporary visual art, to inspiring creative thinking, and to educating a new generation about artists working today.
Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Presents the Met’s collection via a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history. Targeted at students and scholars of art history, it is an invaluable reference, research, and teaching tool. The Timeline comprises 300 timelines, 930 essays, close to 7,000 objects, and a robust index, and is regularly updated and enriched to provide new scholarship and insights on the collection.
New York Times - Art & Design
The Arts & Design Pages of the New York Times.
Universes in Universe - Worlds of Art
One of the very first online art portals and an essential resource for multipliers who shape public opinion about art.
Venice Biennale
The website of one of the most prestigious cultural institutions in the world dating back to 1895.
UbuWeb: Experimental Film and Video
Large catalog and descriptions of artists working in experimental film.
Tate Museum
Online collection that promotes public understanding and enjoyment of British, modern and contemporary art.
Museum of Modern Art (MoMA)
Online catalog of exhibitions at the MoMA, past and present.
Graphic Artists Guild Member Profiles
Review the portfolios of the Guild’s talented members here.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Digitized books and texts, images, sounds and videos from the United States.