Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject Guide: Biology: Websites

Web Sites of Interest

     
    AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)
Created by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators, AGRICOLA covers materials dating from the 16th century to the present. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
    American Museum of Natural History
The AMNH Library Digital Repository is an archive maintained by the Research Library for AMNH Scientific Publications, AMNH scholarly output, and other original and published materials digitized by the Library.
    Avibase: World Bird Database
Information about 10,000 species of birds including distribution, taxonomy and synonyms.
   

BAMONA (Butterflies and Moths of North America)
Butterflies and Moths of North America (BAMONA) is an ambitious effort to collect, store, and share species information and occurrence data. You can participate by taking and submitting photographs of butterflies, moths, and caterpillars.

    Biodiversity Heritage Library

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life

    BioMed Central

BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.

    Biospace
Biotechnology site with links to science articles and company information. Check calendar of industry events, investment information, subscribe to e-mail newsletter on industry developments, and search for jobs by region, company, category. Subjects: biology | genetics | companies
    BLAST (Basic Login Alignment Search Tool)

BLAST finds regions of local similarity between sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance of matches. BLAST can be used to infer functional and evolutionary relationships between sequences as well as help identify members of gene families.

 

Botanicus
Botanicus is a freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

 

EurekAlert!
An online, global news service ruled by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) that provides a central place through which universities, medical centers, journals, government agencies, corporations, and other organizations engaged in research can bring their news to the media.

    Forest Service Database
Database of the U.S. Forest Service's Research and Development arm. Contains publications on priority areas of Invasive Species; Inventory, Monitoring, & Analysis; Outdoor Recreation; Resource Management & Use; Water, Air, & Soil; Wildland Fire & Fuel; and Wildlife & Fish.
    Forest Service Geodata Clearing House
An online collection of digital data related to forest resources. Find datasets related to forests and grasslands and to State and private forested areas. Find downloadable map products, raster data, and links to other sources of forest resource information.
    Genes and Disease
A good overview of the relationship between genetics and various diseases. Each section covers several diseases. Also provides a gene map, related links, and address for appropriate associations. Additionally, a searchable gene map of the human genome is available.
    Genome Database
Organizes information on genomes including sequences, maps, chromosomes, assemblies, and annotations.
    Global Land Cover Facility (GLCF)
Provides earth science data and products to help everyone to better understand global environmental systems. Develops and distributes remotely sensed satellite data and products that explain land cover from the local to global scales.
    Hazardous Substance Database
A toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It provides information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas.
    International Plant Names Index
A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns, and lycophytes.
    Invasive Species Compendium
An encyclopedic resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information to support decision-making in invasive species management worldwide. 
    Medscape

Medscape is the leading online global destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME.

    National Center for Biotechnology Information
A huge government web site that focuses on biological and medical research. Includes biotechnology databases, human and animal gene sequencing, and much more.
    National Wetlands Inventory Data
Provides detailed information on the abundance, characteristics, and distribution of US wetlands.
    Natural Resources Conservation Service Geospacial Data Gateway
Provides access to a map library of over 100 high resolution vector and raster layers in the Geospatial Data Warehouse. It is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data, at any time, from anywhere, to anyone.
    SciCentral.com
Launched as a new e-mail news alert. Visitors to the site can, after registration, sign up to receive a free weekly newsletter. You select which of over 120 topics will be monitored in your newsletter. Topics cover medicine, general science, and special features like science policy and ethics.
    Science.Gov
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
   

Tree of Life
Expanding Web site of more than 1,300 schematic trees that map out biological relationships, evolutionary history and characteristics of organisms.

    University of Michigan Museum of Zoology's Animal Diversity Web
Each animal is classified with detailed descriptions of habitat, range, reproduction, food habits, communication and more.
    Vesalius
A detailed collection of anatomical images and surgical techniques. Developed for medical students and physicians. The Image Archive covers 16 areas of the human body, and the Clinical Folios section, listed by topic, includes narrative, sketches, and text illustrating a specific procedure, and transparencies. QuickTime and Shockwave are needed for the transparencies.
    WWW Virtual Library: BioSciences
An index to web sites relating to Biology.