Subject Guide: Speech/Language/Hearing/Science

Long known as "the Little Blue Book," this newest edition of the leading dictionary and sourcebook of terms for the speech, language, and hearing professions contains many new and updated terms, illustrations, chards, tables, and helpful appendices. The comprehensive testing section is an up-to-date resource covering tests in areas such as language, articulation, vocablulary, audiometry and psychology.

Designed as an easy-to-use, hands-on resource, the book is filled with practical tools, information, and suggestions. Step-by-step, this practical guide explores the various stages of evaluation, interpretation, diagnosis, prescription, and remediation.

This book offers almost 200 detailed entries, covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis.

Offers quick access to health and wellness information most relevant to children in America’s K-12 school setting, including guidance on developmental stages, acute and chronic illnesses, special education, nutrition, crisis response, prevention, and more.

Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, with issues related to physical and cognitive and behavioral development. Covers every major body system. There is a distinct emphasis on health issues affecting children under the age of four. 4 volumes.

This set provides more than 1,200 alphabetically arranged entries, covering topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. It covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.

This encyclopedia is aimed at students interested in interdisciplinary perspectives on human communication—both normal and disordered—across the lifespan. This set will look at the spectrum of communication disorders, from causation and prevention to testing and assessment; through rehabilitation, intervention, and education.

Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone. 6 volumes.