LibGuides: Minnesota and National History Day : Finding Articles

Primary Sources

New York Times (ProQuest, 1851-four year lag) This link opens in a new window
This historical New York Times newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage is 1851 with 3-4 embargo. See Newspapers – U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) for current articles.
Readers' Guide Retro - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retro is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Readers' Guide Retro covers the years 1890 - 1982
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876 This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

Making of America
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. For more details about the project, see About MoA.

Newspapers - U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
News in all formats from around the US.

Minnesota History
1925 - 2010
Minnesota History is a lively, richly illustrated magazine about the history of the state and the Upper Midwest. Published quarterly by the Minnesota Historical Society Press, Minnesota History features engaging articles that are original, soundly researched, and intriguingly written.
Minnesota History's wealth of illustrations includes many rarely seen images from the Historical Society's archives of some 250,000 historical photos, art, objects, posters, and fine-art photographs. These illustrate Minnesotans, their lives, landscapes, leisure, and occupations from the pre-territorial period to the present.
Minnesota History Bulletin
1915 - 1924

Multidisciplinary Databases (Useful for Research on All Topics)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
JSTOR Full Text Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books. Journals have extensive archives but often delay access to recent issues by 4-5 years.
Subject areas include African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Sociology, and Statistics.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.

ELM - Electronic Library Minnesota
Free resources for people in the state of Minnesota.

These databases are only accessible while you are on MSUM's campus with exception of the ELM (Electronic Library Minnesota) suite.

Please email yourself any articles to avoid printing charges.

A to Z E-Journal Directory This link opens in a new window
This directory will guide you by Title, ISSN, or category to the library's collection of online journals.

Journals in paper on 2nd floor of the Library
If you're looking for a specific title, type it into the search box.