Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Teaching and E-book Resources
Amazon Publishing Relaxed Reading Guidelines
Amazon Publishing is relaxing company guidelines for online readings of books published by Two Lions and Amazon Crossing Kids, as long as the readings are for educational and non-commercial purposes. For permission, educators, librarians, and booksellers can e-mail with their name, institution name, location, and the book they would like to read. All videos must be removed by June 30.
Capstone Free E-Books and Activities
E-books from Capstone’s PebbleGo and Capstone Interactive are currently free, and the publisher has also created a dedicated website with free additional resources for children and parents. The site includes activities from making paper spinners and bookmarks to home science experiments for making putty and toilet paper roll planters.
Children's Book Council (CBC)--Publisher Resources
Looking for fun and educational resources, activities, discussion guides, teacher guides and more to share with children of all ages?
From fiction to non-fiction, STEM books to graphic novels, book publishers have created a wealth of content to support educators, librarians, booksellers, parents, and caregivers. Compiled here are links to various publishers websites where you can find these free resources.
CLCD (Children's Literature Comprehensive Database)
A powerful Children’s Literature database to assist academics and professional librarians in finding detailed information about titles.
Looking for a science fiction title for a 10 year old library patron? Looking for five books to use with a science lesson focusing on water? CLCD makes it easier. Need to build your WWII young adult historical fiction collection? Need to help your daughter find a four point AR book that interest her and is on her reading level? CLCD has got you covered.
Epic Free Worldwide Remote Student Access
Epic’s digital library of 40,000 e-books, audiobooks, and learning videos is available to students for free through June 30. Educators who use Epic are able to invite their students into the library at no cost on any device.
Follett eLearning Resources
Follett School Solutions has made Lightbox, the company’s pre-K–12 e-book platform free to all schools. Through the initiative, world languages are also free. In addition, the company has waived costs for its Classroom Ready Collections for any of its Destiny program customers.
Harper at Home
HarperCollins Children’s Books is using social media to share daily story times, learning materials, and activities with readers. Authors, illustrators, and Harper staff will participate, with social media channels available for different age groups. HarperKids is on Instagram for little readers, the YouTube channel Shelf Stuff is for middle grade readers, the Epic Reads Twitter feed is for teens, and HarperStacks—also on Twitter—has resources for educators, parents, and caregivers.
HMH Books for Young Readers Resource Library and E-Newsletter
HMH Books for Young Readers is creating free activity guides, coloring pages, and videos by authors and illustrators—including Kwame Alexander, Chloe Bristol, Lois Lowry, Lori Mortenson, and Kim Smith—which are e-mailed each week to support families and educators. Along with the e-newsletter, the HMH Books for Young Readers Resource Library contains free downloads and content, all of which are part of HMH’s #HomewithHMH campaign. In addition, HMH has relaxed audio and video guidelines for fair use streaming by educators and librarians.
Horn Book magazine
Click on “Access Digitized Edition” in the upper left-hand corner to find our entire digitized Magazine archive, from November/December 2016 to today. All the Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King Book Award speeches; the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award speeches; our reviews (including stars); editorials; articles; interviews; and more.
Internet Archive--National Emergency Library
A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed.
Junior Library Guild--Free ebooks and resources
FREE access to the JLG Digital online reading platform! With JLG Gold Standard eBooks for Elementary, Middle School and High School students, JLG Digital gives you and your readers unlimited access to read books online from any device. There is no limit to the number of users who can access the books, so tell your home-bound students to click to their hearts' content! Titles enter and exit the digital stream regularly, so there are always new picks available!
KidLit TV has created a virtual library available to readers on their site. The virtual library includes tutorials, read-alouds, podcasts and other activities, including reading resources. The multimedia content provider is run by educators and parents and works with more than 600,000 schools.
National Geographic NatGeo@Home
National Geographic has introduced NatGeo@Home, a platform for children, parents, and educators to access free content including games, videos, and activities. Through the site, readers can explore remotely with National Geographic Explorers, read content from the publisher’s Weird but True and Zeus the Mighty series, and conduct experiments from home.
Peachtree Remote Learning Resources Hub
Peachtree’s Remote Learning Resources Hub offers free materials for students, educators, and parents, ranging from entertainment to Common Core-aligned teacher’s guides. Along with virtual storytime access and activity sheets, the site also includes relaxed guidelines for read-a-louds, and is regularly updated with new content.
Penguin Random House Open License
PRH is offering a temporary open license to digital content for educators, librarians, and booksellers. The license allows professionals to access and stream videos of story times, read aloud videos, and live readings. Booksellers can also upload and share videos and related media if it uses a PRH title, and educators can integrate PRH title-related content through the site’s digital classroom platform.
Read & Learn with Simon Kids
Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing is offering a number of digital resources for children and families, all of which can be accessed on its new learning hub Read & Learn with Simon Kids. Along with direct resources, the publisher is also doing a weekly “Snack & Read Live with Simon Kids” half-hour video series on Facebook on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays at 2 p.m. ET. Participating authors include Emily Calandrelli, Scott Campbell, Jarrett Lerner, and Scott Magoon. On YouTube, “Read & Learn with Simon Kids” will feature self-shot home videos of reading with authors, including Tony DiTerlizzi, Lita Judge, Hena Khan, and Aaron Reynolds.
Scholastic Learn at Home
Scholastic has opened up its extensive library of digital curricular resources for free through a new website, Scholastic Learn at Home. In a statement, the publisher said, “Scholastic Learn at Home allows open access to daily learning journeys divided into four grade spans—Pre-K–K, Grades 1–2, Grades 3–5, and Grades 6–9+, covering ELA, STEM, Science, Social Studies, and Social-Emotional Learning.” In addition to general learning materials, the publisher has also created a website for teaching young people about the coronavirus outbreak.
Teachingbooks.net--Free author and book resources
Through September 15, delve into the world of children’s and young adult books, including read-along performances, virtual storytimes with 1,000+ complete book readings, and insightful interviews with thousands of authors, and discussion questions for most books. Free access to 172,555 resources about children's and young adult books.
Wide Open School is a free collection of the best online learning experiences for kids curated by the editors at Common Sense. There is so much good happening, and we are here to gather great stuff and organize it so teachers and families can easily find it and plan each day.
At Wide Open School, we celebrate teachers—and parents—as they take on this new challenge. We'll discover and highlight teachers who are figuring out how to light up an online classroom and invite them to share their tips and wisdom to help blend home and school. Wide Open School will offer many resources that can be completed offline and on smartphones, as well as bilingual and English-language learner resources.
Curriculum Materials Center Librarian