Dragon Podcast Studio

How to Record a Video Podcast

This document outlines the different steps to record your first Video Podcast in the Dragon Podcast Studio. Scroll through the document or select a topic from the Table of Contents to view necessary instructions.

Table of Contents:

o   Recording a Video Podcast with OBS

o   Additional Resources

Recording a Video Podcast in OBS

This guide aims to help you in learning some of the basic functions of OBS and provide a basis for exploration when creating your Video Podcast. When recording projects in the Dragon Podcast Studio, it may be helpful to begin working with the provided scene collections. These have been created to streamline the setup process for recording in OBS, and already have sources added based on the type of recording desired.

Quick Start to Recording

1. Open the OBS application on the desktop

NOTE: if the warning below pops up, dismiss it by clicking Run Normally

 

 

2. Turn on the phantom power for the microphones in the studio. To do this, look for a small, round button with “48V” above it on the red box on the table. Press this button.

 

 

When the phantom power is on, the “48V” will glow red (shown below)

 

 

3. You can adjust the volume to the headphones in the studio by adjusting the two indicated knobs on the microphone amp shown below

 

 

4. In the top-left corner of OBS, click on the Scene Collection tab, and select the Audio and Video option. This will populate the recording area with the sources relevant to the type of recording you want to create.

 

 

5. In OBS, the Sources box lists all the input sources for this scene collection. The eye icon next to each source can be used to mute any unwanted sources.

NOTE: Hidden sources will appear with an icon of an eye with a slash through it

 

6. Once you are ready to record, click the Start Recording button

  

 

7. Once you have finished recording, click the Stop Recording button

 

OBS will display the path to where the file was saved at the bottom left corner of the window. For help with managing files visit published documents for OneDrive or USB storage devices.

Dragon Podcast Studio

How to Record an Audio Only Podcast

This document outlines the different steps to record your first Audio Only Podcast in the Dragon Podcast Studio. Scroll through the document or select a topic from the Table of Contents to view necessary instructions.

Table of Contents:

o   Recording an Audio Only Podcast with OBS

o   Additional Resources

Recording an Audio Only Podcast in OBS

This guide aims to help you in learning some of the basic functions of OBS and provide a basis for exploration when creating your Audio Only Podcast. When recording projects in the Dragon Podcast Studio, it may be helpful to begin working with the provided scene collections. These have been created to streamline the setup process for recording in OBS, and already have sources added based on the type of recording desired.

Quick Start to Recording

1. Open the OBS application on the desktop

 

NOTE: if the warning below pops up, dismiss it by clicking Run Normally

 

 

2. Turn on the phantom power for the microphones in the studio. To do this, look for a small, round button with “48V” above it on the red box on the table. Press this button.

 

 

When the phantom power is on, the “48V” will glow red (shown below)

 

 

3. You can adjust the volume to the headphones in the studio by adjusting the two indicated knobs on the microphone amp shown below

 

 

4. In the top-left corner of OBS, click on the Scene Collection tab, and select the Podcast Recording (AUDIO ONLY) option. This will populate the recording area with the sources relevant to the type of recording you want to create.

 

 

5. In the Sources box, use the eye icon next to “How To Text” to hide the display text.

NOTE: Hidden sources will appear with an icon of an eye with a slash through it

 

6. If you have an image you would like to use for your recording, click on the OBS Image source, then click the Browse button just below the bottom right corner of the video output

 

7. Use the File Explorer pop up to select the image from your save device then click

Open

 

8. Once you are ready to record, click the Start Recording button

  

 

9. Once you have finished recording, click the Stop Recording button

 

OBS will display the path to where the file was saved at the bottom left corner of the window. For help with managing files visit published documents for OneDrive or USB storage devices.

Dragon Podcast Studio

How to Record a Zoom Meeting with OBS

This document outlines the different steps to record your first Zoom Meeting in the Dragon Podcast Studio. Scroll through the document or select a topic from the Table of Contents to view necessary instructions.

Table of Contents:

o   Recording a Zoom Meeting with OBS

o   Additional Resources

Recording Zoom Meeting with OBS

Podcasts can include guests that participate both in-person and remotely. With the popularity of Zoom post-pandemic, many podcasters utilize the online meeting service to meet with and interview guests remotely. These instructions detail how to use the Dragon Podcast Studio and the Zoom Interview scene collection in OBS to record with a remote guest.

Quick Start to Recording

1. Open the OBS application on the desktop

NOTE: if the warning below pops up, dismiss it by clicking Run Normally

 

2. Turn on the phantom power for the microphones in the studio. To do this, look for a small, round button with “48V” above it on the red box on the table. Press this button.

 

When the phantom power is on, the “48V” will glow red (shown below)

 

3. You can adjust the volume to the headphones in the studio by adjusting the two indicated knobs on the microphone amp shown below

 

4. In the top-left corner of OBS, click on the Scene Collection tab, and select the Zoom Interview option. This will populate the recording area with the sources relevant to the type of recording you want to create

 

5. Open Zoom from the desktop

 

6. Click the button to sign in, then select Sign in with SSO

 

7. Type in minnstate in the company domain box and click Continue. Sign in with your StarID credentials.

 

8. Join your Zoom meeting, then select Join with Computer Audio in the pop up upon joining the meeting

 

 

The Zoom meeting window should now be visible in the video output in OBS.

       

 

9. Verify in Zoom that Scarlett 2i2 USB is selected for the Microphone and Speaker, and that Live! Cam Sync HD VF0770 is selected for the Camera.

 

 

10. In OBS, the Sources box lists all the input sources for this scene collection. The eye icon next to each source can be used to mute any unwanted sources.

NOTE: Hidden sources will appear with an icon of an eye with a slash through it

 

11. Once you are ready to record, click the Start Recording button

  

 

12. Once you have finished recording, click the Stop Recording button

 

OBS will display the path to where the file was saved at the bottom left corner of the window. For help with managing files visit published documents for OneDrive or USB storage devices.

Dragon Podcast Studio

How to Record a Zoom Meeting (Audio Only) with OBS

This document outlines the different steps to record your first Zoom Meeting in the Dragon Podcast Studio. Scroll through the document or select a topic from the Table of Contents to view necessary instructions.

Table of Contents:

o   Recording a Zoom Meeting (Audio Only) with OBS

o   Additional Resources

Recording Zoom Meeting (Audio Only) with OBS

Podcasts can include guests that participate both in-person and remotely. With the popularity of Zoom post-pandemic, many podcasters utilize the online meeting service to meet with and interview guests remotely. These instructions detail how to use the Dragon Podcast Studio and the Zoom Interview scene collection in OBS to record with a remote guest.

Quick Start to Recording

1. Open the OBS application on the desktop

NOTE: if the warning below pops up, dismiss it by clicking Run Normally

 

2. Turn on the phantom power for the microphones in the studio. To do this, look for a small, round button with “48V” above it on the red box on the table. Press this button.

 

When the phantom power is on, the “48V” will glow red (shown below)

 

3. You can adjust the volume to the headphones in the studio by adjusting the two indicated knobs on the microphone amp shown below

 

4. In the top-left corner of OBS, click on the Scene Collection tab, and select the Zoom Interview (AUDIO ONLY) option. This will populate the recording area with the sources relevant to the type of recording you want to create

 

5. Open Zoom from the desktop

 

6. Click the button to sign in, then select Sign in with SSO

 

7. Type in minnstate in the company domain box and click Continue. Sign in with your StarID credentials.

 

8. Join your Zoom meeting, then select Join with Computer Audio in the pop up upon joining the meeting

 

9. Verify in Zoom that Scarlett 2i2 USB is selected for the Microphone and Speaker, and that Live! Cam Sync HD VF0770 is selected for the Camera.

 

 

10. In the Sources box, use the eye icon next to “How To Text” to hide the display text.

NOTE: Hidden sources will appear with an icon of an eye with a slash through it

 

11. If you have an image you would like to use for your recording, click on the OBS Image source, then click the Browse button just below the bottom right corner of the video output

 

12. Use the File Explorer pop up to select the image from your save device then click Open

 

13. Once you are ready to record, click the Start Recording button

  

 

14. Once you have finished recording, click the Stop Recording button

 

OBS will display the path to where the file was saved at the bottom left corner of the window. For help with managing files visit published documents for OneDrive or USB storage devices.

Dragon Podcast Studio

How to Set Up OneDrive on Studio Computer

This document will provide instructions on how to set up your Minnesota State OneDrive on the studio computer, as well as how to set your OneDrive as the default save location for your OBS recordings.

Table of Contents:

o   First-Time OneDrive Set Up

o   Set OneDrive as OBS Save Location

o   Meanings for OneDrive Icons

o   Additional Resources

First-Time OneDrive Set Up

OneDrive allows you to access your files from any device, so long as there is internet connection. Saved files are made available online and are accessible by logging into Microsoft OneDrive here with your StarID email and password.

Instructions:

1. Click the Windows search bar in the bottom left corner of the screen, type in OneDrive, then click Open

 

2. OneDrive will open up a login window – log in using your StarID credentials

NOTE: Student accounts are denoted by “go.minnstate.edu” while staff/faculty accounts are shown as “minnstate.edu”

 

3. Once you have logged in, you will be greeted by a window that lists the location of your OneDrive folder. Click Next through all the pages in the window until you can click the button that takes you to your OneDrive folder.

 

Find OneDrive in File Explorer:

Once OneDrive has been set up, you can view your OneDrive folder by opening File Explorer and selecting the OneDrive tab in the left-most list.

 

Set OneDrive as OBS Save Location

OBS by default saves recordings to the computer’s Videos folder, but we can change the settings so that your recordings are automatically saved to your chosen storage location. This can be set up with your MNState OneDrive or a USB storage device (flash drive, external HDD/SSD, etc).

Instructions:

1. Open the OBS application on the desktop

NOTE: if the warning below pops up, dismiss it by clicking Run Normally

 

2. In the top-left corner of OBS, click File, then select Settings in the drop menu

 

3. In the settings menu on the left-hand side, select Output. Under the Recordings heading, find Recording Path and click the Browse button to the right of the save file path

 

4. In the File Explorer window, find your OneDrive in the left-hand list and select it. Verify that the folder chose is your OneDrive, then click Select Folder.

 

5. Make sure your OneDrive is the chosen folder, click Apply, then click OK

 

NOTE: You’ll know the settings have taken effect when the Apply button appears darker than normal

 

To View Recordings:

To view where your recordings will be saved to, click File then Show Recordings.

 

 

File Explorer will open, showing the folder where your recordings will be saved (in this case, your OneDrive will be shown).

 

 

Meanings for OneDrive Icons

OneDrive uses several different icons to communicate the state of your files. Knowing what the different icons mean will help you to manage your files more effectively and eliminate any future confusion.

 

Dragon Podcast Studio

How to Set OBS Save Location to USB Storage

This document provides instructions on how to set the OBS save location to default to your USB storage device.

Table of Contents:

o   Set OBS Save Location

o   To View Recordings

o   Additional Resources

Set OBS Save Location

OBS by default saves recordings to the computer’s Videos folder, but you can change the settings so that your recordings are automatically saved to your chosen storage location. This can be set up with your MNState OneDrive or a USB storage device (flash drive, external HDD/SSD, etc). The instructions are for setting the save location to a USB storage device, but setting OneDrive as the save location is a nearly identical process. Instructions on how to set up OneDrive on the computer can be found here.

Instructions:

1. Open the OBS application on the desktop

NOTE: if the warning below pops up, dismiss it by clicking Run Normally

 

2. In the top-left corner of OBS, click File, then select Settings in the drop menu

 

3. In the settings menu on the left-hand side, select Output. Under the Recordings heading, find Recording Path and click the Browse button to the right of the save file path

 

4. In the File Explorer window, find your USB Drive in the left-hand list and select it

 

5. Verify that the folder chosen is the USB Drive, then click Select Folder

 

6. Make sure your USB Drive is the chosen folder, click Apply, then click OK

NOTE: You’ll know the settings have taken effect when the Apply button appears darker than normal

 

To View Recordings:

To view where your recordings will be saved to, click File then Show Recordings.

File Explorer will open, showing the folder where your recordings will be saved (in this case, your USB drive will be shown).

OSBOT Tiny 2 Webcam

Roland Direct Streaming AV Mixer SR-20HD

Scarlett Focusrite 2i2 audio interface