Articles - ENGL 312 - Rowse - LibGuides at Minnesota State University Moorhead

Databases for Literary Criticism and Historical Research

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
JSTOR Full Text Journals This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books. Journals have extensive archives but often delay access to recent issues by 4-5 years.
Subject areas include African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Sociology, and Statistics.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Important tip--uncheck button that says "include preview only material" to get to our content.
New York Times (ProQuest, 1851-four year lag) This link opens in a new window
This historical New York Times newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage is 1851 with 3-4 embargo. See Newspapers – U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) for current articles.

Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes literary criticism, author biographies, reviews and news, and more.
An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature. As Gale makes additional Literary Resources available through Gale Literature, and if your library has access to these products, they will be automatically added to the Gale Literature experience upon release.

formerly branded as Artemis