LibGuides: CNSA 490/590: Teaching First Year College Students: Reference Sources

Databases for Primary Sources and Artifacts

Newspapers - U.S. Newsstream (Proquest)
News in all formats from around the US.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876

America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

American Decades 21st Century (2000-2009)
Ebook that covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the fascinating details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology and social trends.

MNopedia
A resource for reliable information about significant people, places, events and things in Minnesota history created by the Minnesota Historical Society.

American Decades Primary Sources
Cross-disciplinary ebook spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.

APA PsycTests

Includes information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.
TeachingBooks

Access to movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, and guides to titles and multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature.

Digest of Education Statistics
The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
Condition of Education
This website is an integrated collection of the indicators and analyses published in The Condition of Education 2000–2009. Some indicators may have been updated since they appeared in print.

Choice Reviews
Choice Reviews gives subscribers immediate access to a comprehensive archive of almost 200,000 reviews representing a quarter-century of scholarship.

Lexicool
Directory of "all" the online bilingual and multilingual dictionaries and glossaries freely available on the Internet.
Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus
Online version of America's leading and most-trusted provider of language information.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
Source for career information. Covers hundreds of occupations and describes what they do, work environment, how to become one, pay, and more. Each profile also includes Bureau of Labor Statistics employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.
Oxford English Dictionary

Definitions, pronunciation, and history of English language words.
Statistical Abstract
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

GovInfo
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.