Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SLP 601: Research Design in Speech-Language Pathology: Finding Articles

All-in-One Search

Dragon OneSearch

A good place to begin your research. Similar to Google Scholar search. This all-in-one search will not retrieve everything on a specific topic, especially in narrow fields of study.

Databases Containing SLP Articles

All SLHS/SLP Settings

ComDisDome

ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology. In one convenient location, the database will quickly identify and connect you to reliable information from multiple sources in your field, including journal articles and books, along with access to profiles of researchers working in this area.

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,200 journals and a total of more than 11,700 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

SpringerLink

Site contains about 1600 academic journals. Important tip--uncheck button that says "include preview only material" to get to our content.

School Settings

Education Research Complete - Ebsco

Education Research Complete covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

ERIC Database - Ebsco

The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature.

Medical Settings

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL.

ScienceDirect

Collection of over 1 million articles from 1995 to present covers a wide variety of subject areas and disciplines

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - EBSCO

This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines

Pubmed

PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed Online Training

 

What if MSUM doesn't have the article you want??

If the library doesn’t have the article you want in either print or online, you can request a copy by using InterLibrary Loan (ILL). For a detailed description of what ILL is, check out the InterLibrary Loan Services LibGuide.

When you’re in one of the library’s databases and the full-text is not there, or the most recent months of the journal have been embargoed, you can use the ILL function within the databases to request the article. Please make sure to double check the title in BrowZine before you place the request. If you find a citation somewhere besides in one of our online databases, double check BrowZine first, and then if you cannot locate the journal you  can place a request for it using our online ILL Request Form.

Search E-journals

Search e-journals

Is my article peer-reviewed?