Subject Guide: History

Covers an extensive array of topics on ancient Greece and Rome including daily life, art and architecture, philosophy, science, religion, statesmen, military leaders, emperors, and more. 4 volumes.

This book presents an informative introduction to China's past and present, from traditional accounts of its beginnings more than 3,000 years ago to its modern emergence as a first-world nation.

Discusses the political and economic aspects of each period as well as the social and cultural milieu, and includes a timeline, brief biographical notes on key players, and a bibliographic essay.

This book provides substantive entries on 36 watershed events that shaped the history of the continent from the prehistoric past to the dawn of the 21st century.

This reference work covers the history of Middle East nations, addressing military, political, diplomatic, and ideological trends in each respective country and enabling readers to better understand the factors behind the crises shaping the Middle East today.

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. 6 volumes.

Provides insight into major cultures from all continents including annotated primary documents introducing aspects of daily life throughout the world. Covers domestic life, economics, intellectual life, material life, politics, religion, and recreation, from antiquity to the present. 3 volumes.

This book surveys the history of the global rise of Communism, from the earliest phases of the "Utopian Socialist" movement and the beginnings of Marxist theory to the collapse of the Soviet system and the Cold War. It begins with a timeline and narrative overview, which are followed by reference entries, primary source documents, and original argumentative essays on enduring issues related to Communism.

Covers the Near East, ancient Egypt, Greece, and Rome; shows the period between 1700 BC and 565 AD.

This book is an illuminating survey of the development and impact of the British Empire from the end of the American Revolution to the present day with an emphasis on social and cultural history.

This book provides a comprehensive summary of world history from the earliest recorded evens to the start of the third millennium. Arranged year by year, it answers research questions and illuminates similarities and contrasts between different nations and different ages.

This book is a complete chronology of world history. Entries range from Art and Economics to Politics and Technology, and cover both major and minor events throughout world history. 4 volumes.

A collection of thirty chronologies for all the countries of Asia that describe the country's history and culture.

This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health.

This book explores the ways in which the peoples of Africa and their politics, states, societies, economies, environments, cultures, and arts were transformed during the course of that Janus-faced century. It provides a thorough examination of the global and local forces that shaped the changes that the continent underwent.