Subject Guide: History

This book provides a chronological overview of Latino/a history in North America beginning with the indigenous populations of the Americas through the present day. Covering the 50 most pivotal developments across more than 500 years, it is divided into time periods, such as Pre-Colonial Era to Spanish Empire, pre-1521-1810, offering a balance of political and cultural events, social developments, legal cases, and broader trends for each. 2 volumes.

Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).

Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history. 8 volumes.

This book presents and discusses documents that reflect pivotal moments in the LGBT rights movement in North America, from the First People, through the influx of European settlers and the slave trade from Africa, to the modern era.

This book provides an introductory overview of the Salem witch trials, which is followed by an array of primary sources that tell the Salem story in the words of both the accusers and the victims of that episode.

A survey of the military aspects of the American Revolutionary War, covering the period 1763-1783. The alphabetically arranged entries include biographies as well as discussions of campaigns and strategy; battles, skirmishes, and naval actions; weaponry; political issues and events; and how the European powers participated in the conflict. For students, historians, and general readers. 2 volumes.

This title presents important historical documents from influential figures in Native American history. It provides in-depth analysis of speeches, letters, legislation, court cases, and other sources about Native Americans throughout American history.

This 2-vol. set encompasses nearly two decades of American history, beginning with the farm crisis of the mid-1920s, through the 1929 stock market crash, the gradual recovery during the 1930s with Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal and World War II. This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia features entries on depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture.

This book explains why America can realize the civil rights dream in the 21st century—if U.S. citizens take actions as individuals as well as work together for equality.

This book provides a variety of original source documents, from first-hand accounts to media responses to legislative texts, regarding the Chicano movement of the 1960s through 1970s. It examines the key events, individuals, and developments of La Causa: Chicanos uniting to free themselves of liberation from exploitation, oppression, and racism.

Chronicles the cultural, political, and social history of America from the earliest Native Americans to the twenty-first century through narrative accounts, photographs, illustrations, boxed features, and over two hundred color maps.

Outlines important people, places, and events in Native American history, covering such topics as art, activism, education, literature, religion, and sports.

This book covers the people, institutions, ideas, and events of the first three hundred years of American history. Focus is on the thirteen British colonies, but entries also cover Canada; the American Southwest and Mexico; and the Caribbean and Atlantic world directly impacting the history of the thirteen colonies. It explores the complete early history of what would become the United States, including portraits of Native American life in the immediate pre-contact period, early Spanish exploration, and the first settlements by Spanish, French, Dutch, Swedish, and English colonists. Includes: thematic essays on major issues and topics; detailed A-Z entries on hundreds of people, institutions, events, and ideas; thematic and regional chronologies; hundreds of illustrations; primary documents; and a glossary and multiple indexes. 5 volumes.

Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African-American culture on the American cultural landscape. --publisher description. 5 volumes.

This book covers the history of the United States from pre-Columbian times through the first year of the Clinton Administration. Designed to be read as a narrative, this book chronicles all the essential facts of American history, from government and politics to science, thought and culture.
Part 1: The Basic Chronology presents the main political and military events in the history of the United States, beginning with the era of discovery.
Part 2: The Topical Chronology records the nonpolitical aspects of American life.
Part 3: Notable American Biographies contains profiles of 450 influential Americans from all walks of life and their outstanding achievements.
Part 4: The Structure of Federal Government includes tables of U.S Presidents and their cabinets, party strength in Congress from 1789, and Supreme Court justices.

This book is a comprehensive overview of American military history covering military leaders, wars, campaigns, battles, events, famous soldiers, military branches, key technological developments, overviews of weapons systems, and more. It covers the period of the colonial wars to the present, and gives special attention to the minorities and women who have contributed significantly to American military success. 3 volumes.

Brief entries cover people, events, and concepts in America's diverse religious history. 2 volumes.

The first major reference work to combine the scholarship of historians with work in ethnology, gender study, geography, literature, religion, anthropology, and sociology. The focus is not on the conventional political-military narratives that have dominated early writing; rather, the essays highlight the processes and the people of the American social structure. 3 volumes.

U.S. women's history is filtered through the 50 states plus Puerto Rico and Washington, D.C. Includes chronological essays tracing women's experience as Americans from the 1600s through the 1950s and essays on various themes including feminism, political participation and social activism, and race and ethnicity. Sections on each state, biographical profiles, and lists of prominent historical places are also included.

This book places special emphasis on the many ethnic communities that have provided American immigrants. 2 volumes.

This book covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more. 2 volumes.

This book examines the geographical and historical context of the African American Experience from the 16th century African slave trade to the 20th century struggle for equality.

This book presents the most important and interesting data, on a day by day basis, throughout American history on a wide variety of subjects - both the `important' matters and the lesser known but thought provoking incidents and phenomena that add richness and depth to American history.