LibGuides: Subject Guide: Women's Studies: Find Reference Materials

E-Books

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Fedwa Malti-Douglas (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028661155
Publication Date: 2007
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more. 4 volumes.
Women's Rights in the United States by Tiffany K. Wayne (Editor)
ISBN: 9781610692144
Publication Date: 2014
A comprehensive encyclopedia tracing the history of the women's rights movement in the United States from the American Revolution to the present day. 4 volumes.

General Reference Resources

Oxford Digital Reference Premium
In Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection you will find a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from 175+ Oxford reference titles, many of which are in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series, plus all 20,000 quotations from the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
Oxford English Dictionary
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume 2nd Edition(1989) including supplements. Entries offer pronunciation, etymologies, quotations, and date of first known usage.
United Nations - "Statistics and indicators on women and men"
The statistics and indicators refer to the latest year for which sex-disaggregated data are available. The data have been compiled from official national sources as well as international sources. All sources are given at the end of each table, as are technical notes on the indicators presented.
more...less...
To view historical time-series from 1985 to present and to access additional indicators, explore our newest database: GENDER Info 2007, available at:

http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/genderinfo/default.htm

Detailed analyses of key statistics and indicators on women and men are regularly published in The World’s Women reports.
The World's Women 2005: Progress in Statistics
As a response to the concerns raised in the previous issue, The World’s Women 2005: Progress in Statistics reviews and analyses the current availability of data and assesses progress made in the provision of national statistics, as opposed to internationally prepared estimates, relevant to gender concerns during the past 30 years.
World Almanac
The World Almanacs database includes the contents of: Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics and The World Almanac for Kids.