Subject Guide: Management

Yahoo! Finance
This site provides various investing and personal finance information.

Current Industrial Reports
Provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures manufacturing activity in important commodity areas such as textiles and apparel, chemicals, primary metals, computer and electronic components, industrial equipment, aerospace equipment, and consumer goods. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.

Euroland.com
Daily, weekly, monthly, annual, 2-year and 5 year stock data and charts for companies listed on eight major European markets, including Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Helsinki, London, Oslo, Paris, Stockholm, and Zurich.
 

U.S. Census Bureau
Offers access to an astounding amount of demographic, social, and economic data. The search engine allows for pinpointing relevant statistical tables and reports. The site is updated almost daily with newly released reports on such subjects as fathers as care providers, children without health care, and trade statistics. Many of the tables can be downloaded in portable document format (PDF) (Diana Hacker, 2003).

BigCharts
Comprehensive and easy-to-use investment research web site providing access to professional-level research tools like interactive charts, quotes, news, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners. BigCharts is a FREE service supported entirely by our site sponsors. For historical stock quotes (back to 1988), go to the "Historical Quotes" section, plug in any NYSE stock (by its stock symbol) and any date after December 31, 1987 and you'll get the high, low and close for the stock on that date -- ie. our last 12 years of the stock guide on a web site.
 

BizMove.com
BizMove calls itself the Small Business Knowledge Base. It has hundreds of pages of practical information on topics such as personnel audits, cash flow management, marketing plans and reducing costs-and that's just the tip of this informational iceberg. Click on the Free Stuff button to check out the Small Business Directory for newsgroups and dozens of other useful links.
 

Business.com
A business-focused Internet search engine and directory; "contains more than 400,000 listings within 25,000 industry, product and service subcategories."
 

Corporate Information
A specialized portal and search engine for U.S. and international business. Searches free, fee-based, and subscription-based Websites for company information (name or ticker), industry information, state or country business information, and current business news. Not all indexed sites are accessible for free. Requires logon using email userid and password.
 

Dun & Bradstreet
Get the lowdown on more than 50 million businesses in 200 countries worldwide. D&B offers information on 1,500 data elements, including a company's history, financial performance, payment history and market position. (Most services are fee-based.) There's also advice on topics such as database marketing, collections and receivables.

Hoover's IPO Central
 

Kiplinger.com
Kiplinger.com is a personal finance site offering stock quotes and investment research, mortgage calculators, retirement calculators and planners, and numerous educational articles on investing, managing and spending personal wealth.
 

North American Industry Classification System
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. This site includes tables to NAICS-to-SIC and SIC-to-NAICS conversion. NAICS is the key to using and understanding economic statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau.
 

Quicken.com Small Business
Find business tax information at Quicken's small-business page, or peruse the Industry Library with its newspaper and magazine articles for more than 20 industry types. Download a business plan template, an employee time sheet and other business forms, or join one of the forums to swap war stories with other business veterans.
 

Securities and Exchange Commission: EDGAR Database of Corporate Information
Provides information about publicly held corporations, which are required by federal law to file reports on their activities with the Securites and Exchange Commission. Most reports filed from 1994 to the present are publicly available through EDGAR (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval System) on this site. The information about each company includes financial status, chief officers, stock information, company history, pending litigation that might have an economic impact on the company, and more (Diana Hacker, 2003).

U.S. Chamber of Commerce
The world's largest business federation, the chamber represents nearly 3 million companies, 3,000 state and local chambers, 775 business associations and 85 American Chambers of Commerce abroad. At its site you'll find legislative updates, Y2K information, and tons of resources for small businesses on topics such as debt collection and membership information.