LibGuides: GID 310: Typography: Websites

Websites

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

Fonts in Use
Fonts In Use is a public archive of typography indexed by typeface, format, industry, and period. Supported by examples contributed by the public, we document and examine graphic design with the goal of improving typographic literacy and appreciation. Designers use our site for project research, type selection and pairing, and discovering new ways to choose and use fonts.
Letterform Archive
The Archive, located in San Francisco, was founded by Rob Saunders, a collector of the letter arts for over 40 years, as a place to share his private collection with the public. We opened to visitors in February 2015 and now offer hands-on access to a curated collection of over 100,000 items related to lettering, typography, calligraphy, and graphic design, spanning thousands of years of history.
RIT Cary Graphic Design Archives
Welcome to the Digital Collections of the Cary Graphic Design Archives. This digital collection represents some of the thousands of materials that document the work of significant American graphic designers active from the 1920s to the 1950s, in addition to select contemporary designers working in the modernist traditions.
RIT Graphic Design Archive
he Graphic Design Archive (GDA) at Rochester Institute of Technology documents and preserves the work of significant American graphic designers active from the 1920s to the 1960s, as well as selected contemporary designers working in the modernist traditions.
TypeCulture Academic Resources
Welcome to the TypeCulture Academic Resource – an educational aid for students, educators and professionals who are seeking information about the history, design, manufacture and use of typefaces.
Type History (from the Letterform Archive)
Curated sets of objects in the Online Archive tell a visual story of typographic design, starting with the Western world.
Typewolf
A comprehensive collection of the best typography resources from around the web—including the best typography blogs, books, tools and learning resources for 2023.
Typographica
Founded in 2002, Typographica is a review of typefaces and type books, with occasional commentary on fonts and typographic design.

Evaluating Websites

Authority

Is it clear who is responsible for the contents of the page?
Is there a way of verifying the legitimacy of the organization, group, company, or individual?
Is there any indication of the author’s qualifications for writing on a particular topic?
Is the information from sources known to be reliable?
What type of domain is it? (.com .org .net .edu .gov non-US domain)

Accuracy

Are the sources for factual information clearly listed so they can be verified in another source?
Is the information free of grammatical, spelling, and other typographical errors?

Objectivity

Does the content appear to contain any evidence of bias?
Is there a link to a page describing the goals or purpose of the sponsoring organization or company?
If there is any advertising on the page, is it clearly differentiated from the informational content?
What is the page’s purpose? (to inform, to explain, to persuade, to sell, to share, etc.)

Currency

Are there dates on the page to indicate when the page was written, when the page was first placed on the Web, or when the page was last revised?
Are the links up-to-date?
Is the information on the page outdated?

Coverage

Are these topics successfully addressed, with clearly presented arguments and adequate support to substantiate them?
Does the page update other sources, substantiate other materials you have read, or add new information?
Is the target audience identified and appropriate for your needs?

Appearance

Does the site look well organized?
Do the links work?
Are there many dead links on the page?
Does the site appear well maintained?