What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a citation manager that can help you organize your research by storing citations for the articles you find. You can then use those citations to automatically generate your bibliography, formatted to whatever citation style you choose.

You can even sync your RefWorks account with Microsoft Word to drop in-text citations into your document. You can even include it as an add-in with your web browser to create citations from websites. RefWorks can be easy to use and very helpful, but takes a little bit of practice to be familiar with.

Four reasons to use RefWorks include the ability to:

1. Gather, store, manage and share references or citations.
2. Generate bibliographies in numerous citation formats such as APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.
3. Store references online and have accessibility to them wherever internet access is available.
4. Creates more accurate citations. (RefWorks can be used to replace other citation machine sites such as Citation Machine, BibMe, and EasyBib). 

Adding References

There are several ways to add references into Refworks. Begin in the Main Navigation and click on +Add: Upload a Document – these are documents from your own computer files. Example: PDF, PPT, Word Doc. They can also be uploaded with drag and drop anywhere on the All Documents page or Import a Reference page. Import a Reference – allows you to import reference files from other reference managers, from legacy RefWorks and from other sources.

Create New Reference – Search for a title or DOI, review the results and save the ones you choose, or manually add all reference meta data. When selecting Create new reference a new pane will appear on the right.

You can search for a reference or create it yourself.

1. Enter a title, or as much of the title as you can.
2. When available, click on the lightning icon button  in the Title field to have RefWorks match the title with an item in the library. This button is also available after you enter a value in the DOI field, which appears for most reference types.
3. RefWorks displays possible suggestions at the bottom of the pane. If you select one, RefWorks completes the title and fills the fields with information from the library. You can later review or edit fields.
4. To keep the reference, click on Save. The reference will be added to your Last Imported Folder.
5. If no match is found, you can create the reference by typing in the metadata yourself and clicking on Save.

You can save references or articles, including full text (if available) from any website into RefWorks using the Save.

You can also add references by searching in linked library catalogs and publicly available databases. Search results can be imported into your account with the click of a button.

When you are doing your searching in any of the library's databases there will be an option to export the citation to RefWorks. A couple of examples would be:

 A successful import will generate a message similar to the following:

To export references, navigate to the page or folder of the references you would like to export. Click on Share in the Main Navigation, then Export references. Select the relevant options and click on Export.

With RefWorks, you are creating your own personal database of resources, and how you organize those resources is up to you. 

There are three (3) ways to organize and manage your content in RefWorks:

• Projects
• Folders
• Tags

Managing Projects 

You can create projects in RefWorks. Projects allow you to maintain separate reference and resource collections for different research assignments.

---

To manage projects:

1. Select the arrow next to your project in the header and select Manage Projects.

 

The My projects page appears:

---

Create a New Project

To create a new project, select Create a New Project. The following appears:

Enter a name for the project and select Save. The project is added to the list of projects. You can navigate between projects from the Project Menu at the top of the page. To rename or delete a project select Actions > Rename or Actions > Delete.

 

 

Write-n-Cite is an add-on for Microsoft Word that enables you to run a simplified version of RefWorks inside of Word. Write-n-Cite enables you to access and cite your references while working in Word, even if you are currently offline.

• Requirements
• Downloading and Installing Write-n-Cite
• Using and Editing with Write-n-Cite

To find the right add-on for your operating system and writing tool, see Finding the Right Writing Tool Add-on.

Features:

• Provides read-only access to your RefWorks account, enabling you to view and insert your previously collated references into your document, formatted using previously defined citation styles.
• Uses codes to represent your references and bibliography entries. This enables Write-n-Cite to manage and update these entities. You can use Write-n-Cite to manage only the codes that it adds to your document; you cannot manage references added as plain text. Codes are surrounded by light square brackets and appear as plain text when viewing or printing the document.
• Adds inline citations and an entire bibliography.
• Enables you to bulk format all entities managed by Write-n-Cite.
• Automatically synchronizes with your RefWorks account every time you log into Write-n-Cite.

• Write-n-Cite works on older versions of Word that are incompatible with RefWorks Citation Manager.
  • Windows users of Microsoft Office 2016 can choose to use Write-n-Cite or RefWorks Citation Manager.
  • Macintosh users of Microsoft Office 2016 must use RefWorks Citation Manager.
• Codes inserted by Write-n-Cite are not recognized by RefWorks Citation Manager and vice versa.
• Write-n-Cite provides limited access to your RefWorks account and does not enable you to make changes to your references.
• If you have documents with codes that were added using Write-n-Cite associated with legacy RefWorks, Write-n-Cite can convert these codes to (new) RefWorks. Write-n-Cite cannot otherwise manage older codes.

Requirements

• Your operating system and Microsoft Office be up to date.
• .NET 4 (Microsoft .NET Framework 4).
• Visual Studio 2010 Tools for Office Runtime (Visual Studio 2010 Tools for Office Runtime).
• The latest Java release. Open JDK is supported. For more information, see The Future of Java in RefWorks.

  When installing Java, you must not install the Ask.com browser toolbar. If you have installed the toolbar, you must remove it.

• Administrator rights on your computer.

Downloading and Installing Write-n-Cite

1. In RefWorks, select Tools > Tools. The Tools page displays.

2. In the Cite in Microsoft Word area, select Download & Install to download the latest version, or Other Windows and Mac Versions to download other versions. If you select Download & Install, the download starts. If you select Other Windows and Mac Versions, the Write-n-Cite for Word Download Page displays. Select the relevant version and select Download & Install to start the download.

   IT versions are for use by administrators only and not by end-users.

    

3. 

   Write-n-Cite for Word Download Page

   The available options depend on your operating system.

4. Start the installation and follow the on-screen instructions. After installing the add-on, a RefWorks ribbon appears in Microsoft Word.

   

   RefWorks Ribbon

5. In the ribbon, select Log In to log in to RefWorks. If single sign-on is enabled for your institution, follow the on-screen instructions to log in using single sign-on. Synchronizing data with your RefWorks account may take a few moments, especially on your first login.

   If you are using Write-n-Cite on a public computer, log out of Write-n-Cite when you complete your work. However, note that Write-n-Cite provides read-only access to your RefWorks account and does not allow you, or any other user, to make changes to your references.

6. To select the citation style to apply to all Write-n-Cite managed entities in your document, select Style > [style name].
   

If you experience any problems, see Contact RefWorks Support.

Using and Editing with Write-n-Cite

When you open Microsoft Word, if you did not log out after your last session, you are still logged in. If not, select Log In from the RefWorks ribbon to log in to RefWorks. If someone else was logged into this instance of Word, select Switch Accounts to log out and log back into your account.

• If you need to reformat all of your entities, select Reapply Output Styles. For example, this may be useful when working with master and subdocuments that have different citation styles.
• To manually force synchronization with RefWorks, select Sync My Database.
• To convert all citations to plain text select Remove Field Codes.

  If you intend to continue using Write-n-Cite to manage citations in this document, we strongly recommend that you save a copy of your document before converting to plain text, as it cannot be undone.

To add or edit an inline citation:

1. To create a citation, select Insert Citation > Insert New. To edit, double-click the citation. In either case, the Insert/Edit Citation pane displays.
   

   Insert/Edit Citation

2. Use the folders and the search bar to locate the reference. You can right-click the referenece to see complete reference information.
   
   Full Reference View
3. Select the reference. A preview of the formatted citation appears in the Preview Citation area. Optionally select + in the Compose Citations area to add additional references to the citation.
   
4. Optionally configure any of the following while creating or editing a reference:
   
   • Hide the publication year
   • Hide the author name
   • Add text before the reference (Prefix)
   • Add text after the reference (Suffix)
   • Hide the reference and only show the bibliography entry
   • Hide page numbers (Suppress Pages)
   • Add page numbers (Override Pages)
   • Change the reference order: Use the up or down arrows for styles that use first-cited order. For styles that use alphabetical or other sorting, select Override Default Ordering.

     Some options depend on the citation style. For example, adding or hiding page numbers works only for styles with page numbers.

5. Select OK to insert or save the selected references. 

To insert a bibliography:

To insert a bibliography that includes all Write-n-Cite managed entities in your document, select Bibliography Options > Insert Bibliography.

Overview

You can create citations in RefWorks to copy to your document, or more conveniently, you can add them while working in your document using a RefWorks add-on. In addition, the add-ons enable you to manage the citations in the: delete, add, restyle, and so forth.

Save to RefWorks is a browser bookmarklet that enables you to add references to your RefWorks account directly from your browser.

See the sections on this page for information about the bookmarklet and about the add-on relevant for your environment.

Save to RefWorks

Save to RefWorks is a bookmarklet that you can install in your browser's favorites (bookmarks) bar. When you are browsing a website that has references that you would like to add to your RefWorks account, select the bookmarklet. RefWorks attempts to save the references and full texts.

Save to RefWorks should work on any modern browser.

Installing Save to RefWorks

To install Save to RefWorks:

1. Ensure that your browser's favorites toolbar is currently visible in your browser.
2. In RefWorks, select Tools > Tools. The Tools page appears.
3. Select Install Save to RefWorks. A dialog box appears.
4. Drag and drop the Save to RefWorks add-on to your browser's favorites toolbar. The add-on is installed.
5. Click anywhere on the page to close the dialog box.

If you experience any problems, see Contact RefWorks Support.

Adding References Using Save to RefWorks

To add a reference or a list of references from a website to RefWorks:

1. Ensure that you are logged into RefWorks.
2. While browsing any website, when viewing a page containing a reference, or information about a reference, select Save to RefWorks from your browser's favorites toolbar. Save to RefWorks opens a right sidebar.

   

   Save to RefWorks Right Sidebar

   • If Save to RefWorks detects a single reference on the page, Save to RefWorks prefills as many fields as it can. Enter or correct information as required and select Save to RefWorks. The reference is added to your RefWorks account.
   • If Save to RefWorks detects multiple references, a list of references appears in the right sidebar. Select the relevant references and select Save to RefWorks. You can edit each one by first opening the reference (select > in the reference row).
3. You can then choose to assign the reference/s to a folder/s and whether to import tags or not.
   
4. If you have multiple projects, select the project to which you want to save the reference and click Continue.