Reference Sources - ENGL 300 - Rowse - Spring 2022 - LibGuides at Minnesota State University Moorhead

Digital Reference Sources - Use for Biographical, Literary Background, and Explanations of Critical Movements/Approaches

Digital Reference Shelf

Literature and Its Times This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Includes literary criticism, author biographies, reviews and news, and more.
An integrated research experience, Gale Literature brings together Gale's premier literary databases in a new digital environment that allows researchers, faculty and students to search across these resources to discover and analyze content in entirely new ways. No other publisher offers this unmatched combination of uniquely rich literary content, dependable metadata, and intuitive subject indexing - all enriched by features and design that breathes new life into the study of literature. As Gale makes additional Literary Resources available through Gale Literature, and if your library has access to these products, they will be automatically added to the Gale Literature experience upon release.

formerly branded as Artemis
Contemporary Authors Online - Gale This link opens in a new window
Provides complete biographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series.
Updated monthly, Contemporary Authors allows users to search for an author by name, title of work, nationality, date and place of birth and death, subject/genre, personal and career information, awards and honors, and more.
Something About the Author This link opens in a new window
Biographies of Children's and Young Adult authors and illustrators and lists of their publications.

The Routledge Introduction to Native American Literature by Drew Lopenzina
ISBN: 1315209721
Publication Date: 2020-07-22

Novels for Students [series] This link opens in a new window
Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance
Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Books written as a concise introduction to a topic in all subjects.

Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2nd Ed. by Patrick L. Mason (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028661957
Publication Date: 2013
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists. 4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2nd Ed. by Jay Kinsbruner; Erick D. Langer (Editors)
ISBN: 9780684312705
Publication Date: 2008
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts. 6 volumes.

ENGL 300 - Rowse - Spring 2022: Reference Sources

Digital Reference Sources - Use for Biographical, Literary Background, and Explanations of Critical Movements/Approaches