Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Once you have graduated from MSUM, you will no longer be able to access the library's databases due to licensing restrictions. However, thanks to open access resources, you will still be able to access scholarly literature and information for free. For more information on what Open Access is, read Peter Suber's "Open Access Overview."
Selected Open Access Resources
With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images (and growing), scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource.
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,734,772 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
Directory of Open Access Books
A directory of open access books on a variety of topics. Includes over 10,800 academic, peer-reviewed books and chapters from over 250 publishers.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Nearly 10,000 journals on multiple topics.
Google Books is a service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Explore academic content on JSTOR that is open to everyone, everywhere. Search thousands of free journal articles and open access book chapters.
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
PubMed Central (PMC)
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).