LibGuides: Women's History Month: Archival Collections

Archival Collections

Moorhead Business and Professional Women (S710)
The Business and Professional Women Club of Moorhead organized in Moorhead, Minnesota in 1952. The club was dedicated to the betterment of conditions for women. It took an active interest in social, educational, economic, and political problems at both the local and national levels. The club was represented at district and state conferences.
Moorhead Area Women’s Political Caucus (S2680)
The Moorhead Area Women’s Political Caucus was formed in the early 1970s. It was connected with the Minnesota’s Women’s Political Caucus and the National Women’s Political Caucus. The goals of the organization were to get women involved in politics and to elect women to public office. The organization also worked against discrimination of women.
League of Women Voters, Moorhead, Minnesota (S2683)
The Moorhead League of Women Voters has existed since 1954. Its purpose has been to promote political responsibility through informed and active participation in government, and to take action on governmental measures and policies in the public interest.
Agassiz Women's Political Caucus (S2734)
The Agassiz Women’s Political Caucus was organized during the summer of 1982. Its primary purpose is to educate women in political activities so that they may share equally with men in the responsibilities of government at every level. The Caucus also works to recruit, support, and endorse able and qualified women to run for elective office and to serve in positions in government and courts.
Women’s Athletic Club of Fargo-Moorhead (S4629)
The Women’s Athletic Club of Fargo-Moorhead [North Dakota-Minnesota] was organized in 1927 as a result of a separation of athletics from the Women’s Fine Arts Club. The purpose of this organization is the promotion of indoor and outdoor athletics for women. All women 18 years of age and over are eligible for membership. The organization disbanded in 1996.
Women’s Network of the Red River Valley (S4764)
The Women’s Network of the Red River Valley was formed with the aid of a $10,000 grant from the American Association of University Women in July 1984. The Network acts as an umbrella organization to coordinate advocacy and educational efforts of groups committed to full equality for women. Its primary goal is the establishment of a workable consortium of feminist groups and individuals through a central office and a regular newsletter. Membership is open to organizations and individuals. The Network serves the Fargo-Moorhead [North Dakota-Minnesota] area, the surrounding 10,000 square mile area of North Dakota and Minnesota, and areas in Winnipeg and Manitoba, Canada.
Tri-College Women’s Bureau Records S(4773)
The Tri-College Women’s Bureau was organized in 1972 by women from Moorhead State University and Concordia College, Moorhead; and North Dakota State University, Fargo. Its purpose is to bring teachers, administrators, counselors, and students an awareness of the nature of sexism in our society and the tools for eliminating sex role stereotyping and sex role socialization from the educational systems. The Bureau conducted a Speakers Service from 1972 to 1975 and from then on has been occupied in sponsoring guest speakers and organizing workshops and conferences.

About the Minnesota State University Moorhead Archives

The Minnesota State University Moorhead (MSUM) Archives is comprised of two repositories: the University Archives and the Northwest Minnesota Historical Center.

The mission of the MSUM Archives is to appraise, collect, organize, describe, and preserve documentation of the history of Minnesota State University Moorhead and northwest Minnesota; to provide reference assistance to MSUM administrators, faculty and staff, students, alumni, and off-campus researchers; and to make collections visible through finding aids, webpages, exhibits, and social media.

The University Archives, created in 1978, is the official repository of MSUM that documents the history of the University and the people affiliated with it. The records span from the founding of the Moorhead Normal School in 1887 to the present.

The Northwest Minnesota Historical Center (NMHC) was established in 1972 by the Minnesota Historical Society in conjunction with the University’s History Department as a regional research repository to collect and preserve the history of the twelve county region of northwest Minnesota. Presently, the NMHC is operated and administered by the Livingston Lord Library. The NMHC contains manuscripts, oral history interviews, photographs, family histories, and more dating as far back as the 1860s.