LibGuides: LGBTQ Pride Month: On the Web

Websites

Websites

ACLU: LGBT Rights
The ACLU has a long history of defending the LGBTQ community. We brought our first LGBTQ rights case in 1936 and founded the LGBTQ Project in 1986. Today, the ACLU brings more LGBTQ cases and advocacy initiatives than any other national organization does. With our reach into the courts and legislatures of every state, there is no other organization that can match our record of making progress both in the courts of law and in the court of public opinion.
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Boston, Massachusetts at Northeastern University, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than sixty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
Fargo-Moorhead Pride
FM Pride is a 100% volunteer run organization and has zero paid staff in any capacity and is operated by the FM Pride Planning Committee which has two main goals: to ensure the organization is on track with regard to meeting its goals, create short and long term strategic plans, fundraise to support the organization, budget as needed based on goals, and crafting policies in support of those goals and plans. They also are in charge of organizing, overseeing and carrying out all FM Pride events.
GLAAD (Formerly the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation)
GLAAD rewrites the script for LGBTQ acceptance. As a dynamic media force, GLAAD tackles tough issues to shape the narrative and provoke dialogue that leads to cultural change.
GLBTQ Archives
The glbtq project was founded in 2000 by Publisher Wik Wikholm to create the world's largest encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history and to deliver it online. The contents of the encyclopedia were formed and overseen by General Editor Claude Summers, Copy Editor Ted-Larry Pebworth, and Assistant to the Editor Linda Rapp. After more than two years of work, the site launched in 2003.
more...less...
The site grew to become the largest glbtq encyclopedia ever created thanks to the work of its editors and more than 350 contributors. The website also included a variety of essays, a few interviews with contemporary figures, and, during its last few years of operation, a blog written by Claude Summers. Claude Summers' blog is archived at the ONE Institute in Los Angeles.

The project also produced three books: The Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual Arts (2004); The Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical Theater (2004); and The Queer Encyclopedia of Film and Television (2005), all published by Cleis Press.

The website closed on August 1, 2015 because of the collapse of the online advertising business model that had supported it.
Human Rights Campaign
As the largest civil rights organization working to achieve equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer Americans, the Human Rights Campaign represents a force of more than 3 million members and supporters nationwide — all committed to making HRC's vision a reality.
Lesbian Herstory Archives
The Lesbian Herstory Archives exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities. Doing this also serves to uncover and document our herstory previously denied to us by patriarchal historians in the interests of the culture that they served. The existence of the Archives will thus enable current and future generations to analyze and reevaluate the Lesbian experience.
LGBTQIA Resource Center Glossary
The terms and definitions below are always evolving and changing and often mean different things to different people. They are provided below as a starting point for discussion and understanding. This Glossary has been collectively built and created by the staff members of the LGBTQIA Resource Center since the early 2000s.
Matthew Shepard Foundation
We amplify the story of Matthew Shepard to inspire individuals, organizations and communities to embrace the dignity and equality of all people.
National Center for Transgender Equality
The National Center for Transgender Equality advocates to change policies and society to increase understanding and acceptance of transgender people. In the nation’s capital and throughout the country, NCTE works to replace disrespect, discrimination, and violence with empathy, opportunity, and justice.
National LGBTQ Task Force
The National LGBTQ Task Force advances full freedom, justice and equality for LGBTQ people. We are building a future where everyone can be free to be their entire selves in every aspect of their lives. Today, despite all the progress we’ve made to end discrimination, millions of LGBTQ people face barriers in every aspect of their lives: in housing, employment, healthcare, retirement, and basic human rights. These barriers must go. That’s why the Task Force is training and mobilizing millions of activists across our nation to deliver a world where you can be you. Join us!
PFLAG
PFLAG is the first and largest organization for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ+) people, their parents and families, and allies. With over 400 chapters and 200,000 members and supporters crossing multiple generations of families in major urban centers, small cities, and rural areas across America, PFLAG is committed to creating a world where diversity is celebrated and all people are respected, valued, and affirmed.
Point Foundation
Point provides scholarships and vital programs to a new generation of LGBTQ leaders.
Safe Zone Project
A free online resource for LGBTQ awareness and inclusion educational work.