HON 100 Introduction to Honors

Some Jargon and Definitions

Academic

Sources that have been carefully and critically examined by experts in a field. They may be original research and often have new information or research in a field. They are credible and authoritative and are acceptable sources for college research papers.

Peer Reviewed

Refereed

Scholarly

Vetted

Library Sources

Sources found through a library. They may be peer reviewed articles; scholarly books; articles in trade journals; films; fiction books; etc.

Database

A collection of journals (scholarly, trade, and/or popular). When you search a database, you can find articles from many different journals at the same time.

Journal

A collection of articles. May be scholarly, trade, or popular. Often published monthly, seasonally, annually, etc.

Scholarly Journal

A print and/or digital collection of academic articles written by researchers for researchers. They are very specific, highly technical, and are peer-reviewed.

Trade Journal

A print and/or digital collection of articles written by working professionals for working professionals. They are on trending, practical topics and are not peer reviewed.

Article

A piece of writing found in newspapers, magazines, journals, websites, etc. usually with the goal of informing the reader.

Scholarly Article

Full-length documents on original research written by experts which are reviewed by the author’s peers for accuracy.

Scholarly Books

Long-form print or digital collections of chapters on a given topic. When written by an expert in a field, reviewed by peers, and published by a scholarly or academic press, they may be as appropriate sources as scholarly journals, depending on the topic.

Vendor

A business that collects journals and databases in packages to sell to libraries for a subscription fee.