Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OERs): Find Open Resources

This guide is designed to help Minnesota State University Moorhead faculty find, create, evaluate, and incorporate Open Educational Resources and Affordable Textbooks in the classroom and online.

Repositories and Search Engines

BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide
The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a wide range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This guide is updated as new resources are identified.

COERLL (Center for Open Educational Resources and Language Learning)
The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.

Creative Commons Search
Beta search engine of materials using Creative Commons Licensing.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.

Flickr
Search for images organized by Creative Commons Licenses.

JSTOR's Open Community Collections
Features Open Access primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives.

Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
The OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 21 different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button. It is maintained by George Mason University.

MERLOT
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, together with associated comments, and bookmark collections, all intended to enhance the teaching experience of using a learning material. All of these items have been contributed by the MERLOT member community, who have either authored the materials themselves, or who have discovered the materials, found them useful, and wished to share their enthusiasm for the materials with others in the teaching and learning community.

The Advanced Search feature at https://www.merlot.org/merlot/advSearchMaterials.htm allows searching by type of material, including open access textbooks and open access journal articles.

Minnesota OER Commons
Minnesota OER Commons seeks to support educators, curriculum experts, and administrators across K-12 and higher education in creating affordable, high quality content solutions using Open Educational Resources (OER). Minnesota OER Commons is part of a statewide collaborative called Minnesota Learning Commons (MnLC), which offers consulting, training, and a suite of tools for the use of OER in all types of learning and classrooms.

OASIS
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 79 different sources and contains 324,517 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.

OER Commons
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

Open Access Digital Library
This open access directory includes over 12,000 journals from over 80 databases. All content is free to the end user. The best way to use this site is to search by name for a particular journal. If you don't have a name, you can also browse by journal subject to find journals in a particular subject area.

Open Course Library
A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of our materials are paired with low cost textbooks ($30 or less). Many of the courses can be taught at no cost to students. Unless otherwise noted, all materials are shared under a Creative Commons (CC BY) license.OCL courses and materials have undergone testing for accessibility and have been designed using the industry-standard Quality Matters (QM) rubric for assessing the quality of online courses.

Open Library of the Humanities
The OLH publishing platform supports academic journals from across the humanities disciplines, as well as hosting its own multidisciplinary journal. Launched as an international network of scholars, librarians, programmers and publishers in January 2013, the OLH has received two substantial grants from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to date, and has built a sustainable business model with its partner libraries.

Open Syllabus Project
Is an academic data mining project based at Columbia University that contains open access syllabi for others to use and adopt.

Open Textbooks (Virginia Tech)
Open Textbooks are freely available online and licensed for redistribution. Some open textbooks are also licensed for editing and modification.

Opendora
Opendora: the all-in-one solution for the storage of open educational resources for the MinnesotaState system.

Skills Commons
The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program has created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development. The Open Educational Resources (OER) are produced by community colleges across the nation and can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by individuals, institutions, and industry.

Teaching Commons
The Teaching Commons showcases high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities and makes them available to educators and students around the world. Curated by librarians and their institutions and hosted by bepress, the Teaching Commons includes open-access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, lectures, K-12 materials, and more.

Google's Advanced Search feature allows for filtering of results such that those items free to use, share, and/or modify are returned in a search. Those options are available in the "Usage Rights" box.

The GitHub Advanced Search feature allows searching to be limited by Creative Commons license.

Open Textbooks

American Institute of Mathematics
A list of open textbooks in various subdisciplines of Mathematics approved by the AIM editorial board.

BC OpenED
It was on October 16, 2012 at the annual OpenEd conference in Vancouver that then British Columbia Minister of Advanced Education, John Yap, announced the creation of the B.C. Open Textbook Project. The goal of the project was to make higher education more accessible by reducing student cost through the use of openly licensed textbooks. BCcampus was tasked with co-ordination of the project because of their 10-year experience funding open educational resources (OER) through the Online Program Development Fund.

COOL4ED (California Open Online Library for Education)
Find FREE and OPEN eTextbooks, Course Materials, Online Courses and more and learn how others are using FREE and OPEN eTextbooks.

Galileo Open Textbooks
List of all open textbooks available through Galileo, the official digital repository of Affordable Learning Georgia, an initiative of the University System of Georgia.

LibreTexts
The mission of the LibreTexts project is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER), particularly for courses relevant to academic programs, to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society. The user guide to LibreTexts can (and should) be seen here. The "remix" function is particularly interesting.

OpenStax
OpenStax College has open, peer-reviewed, free e-texts with support materials for instructors. Offers an option to purchase print copies at cost.

OpenStax CNX allows searching and sharing of OER learning modules.

Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

Open Textbooks (University of Minnesota Libraries)
These open textbooks have been published by the University of Minnesota Libraries Publishing and are licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. We can help faculty and instructors author and use open textbooks in their courses.

Public Domain Resources

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.

Internet Archive
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, they provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Their mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Vast collection of digitized primary source materials from the Library of Congress.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 58,000 free eBooks. Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.

Public Domain Review
Founded in 2011, the PDR is an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas.

Scholarly Resources and Books

Open Access eBooks on JSTOR
Offers ebooks from respected presses, such as University of California Press, University of Michigan Press, and ANU Press. More than 500 titles are available at no cost to libraries or users.

Open Access Theses and Dissertation (OATD)
Aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

Open Anthology of Earlier American Literature
Contains open access classic early American literature.

PDXOpen : Open Access Textbooks
PDXOpen is an open access textbook publishing initiative to support Portland State faculty developing open access textbooks. These are free to anyone throughout the world.

ROAD - Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
Covers different types of online scholarly resources: journals, conferences proceedings, academic repositories, monographic series, and scholarly blogs.

Attribution

Some material on this page courtesy of Minnesota State University, Mankato

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.