Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art 102: Foundations of Drawing II: Web Sites for Art Images

Web Sites

Arachne
Arachne is intended to provide archaeologists and Classicists with a free internet research tool for quickly searching hundreds of thousands of records on objects and their attributes.

Archives of American Art
The Smithsonian has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.

Artcyclopedia
The guide to museum-quality art on the Internet.

AskART
AskART provides directory listings and links to approximately 1300 museums from around the world, dealers, auction houses, and an extensive list of artists in their collections.

AWA: Advancing Women Artists
A non-profit organization committed to identifying, restoring, and exhibiting artwork by women in Florence's museum storage.

AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research, and Exhibitions
A non-profit organization with the goal of creation, indexing, and distribution of information on women artists in the 20th Century. Originally in French.

Books with Full Text Online - MetPublications
Five decades of Met publications on art history available to read, download, and/or search for free.

Census of Antique Works of Art and Architecture Known in the Renaissance
An interdisciplinary research project centering on the classical tradition with a focus on Renaissance studies.

Catalog of Art Museum Images Online (CAMIO)
CAMIO is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.

Chazen Museum Collections
The Chazen Museum of Art contains over 20,000 works of art representing the entire spectrum of art history across culture, period, media, and genre. Browse by geographic region, object type, or century and search collections by keyword.

Digital Collection - Art Institute Chicago
Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as our books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.

Europeana
Provides access to over 50 million digitized items – books, music, artworks, and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to aid research.

Faces of Frida
‚Äč
A collaborative effort to store and make accessible the art and history of Frida Kahlo. Includes paintings, photos, museum exhibits, and personal history.

FirstVIEW
The Web's first runway fashion database offering comprehensive coverage encompassing runway, details, backstage, lookbooks, front row, street style, and promotional presentations.

Getty Research Portal
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.

Informe Design
Brings research from a vast array of reputable research sources to the design community to address the complex challenges faced by designers.

Inside Brazil's Museo Nacional
View artifacts and a virtual tour of the museum that was destroyed by fire in 2018.

National Endowment for the Arts
The independent federal agency whose funding and support gives Americans the opportunity to participate in the arts, exercise their imaginations, and develop their creative capacities.

National Portrait Gallery (London)
Features a Picture Library Search with information on approximately 10,000 works in which you can search for artist, sitter of by title or by NPG number. (In Advanced Search you can restrict your search to images available on web site.) There is an alphabetical list of artists, as well as an alphabetical list of sitters.

Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery
There is a Collection and Research Records Search and an Expanded Person Search. You can search for books, caricatures, collages, decorative arts, drawings, medals, paintings, photographs, prints, sculptures, silhouettes, and 'others'.