Reference Resources - Wyndmere - History - Genocide Research - LibGuides at Minnesota State University Moorhead

Reference Resources (Dictionaries, Almanacs, Encyclopedias)

Encyclopedia of Genocide by Israel W. Charny (Editor); Desmond Tutu (Editor); Simon Wiesenthal (Foreword by); Rouben Paul Adalian; Steven L. Jacobs; Eric Markusen; Samuel Totten (Editor); Marc I. Sherman
Call Number: Reference 2nd Floor ; HV6322.7 .E53 1999

ISBN: 0874369282

Publication Date: 2000

Points of View Reference Center
Designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. (EBSCO)

American Eras by Gretchen D. Starr-LeBeau (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787614775

Publication Date: 1997

Ebook that includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles, and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history. 8 volumes.

Volume 1: Early American Civilizations and Exploration to 1600
Volume 2: The Colonial Era, 1600-1754
Volume 3: The Revolutionary Era, 1754-1783
Volume 4: Development of a Nation, 1783-1815
Volume 5: The Reform Era and Eastern U.S. Development, 1815-1850
Volume 6: Westward Expansion, 1800-1860
Volume 7: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1850-1877
Volume 8: Development of the Industrial United States, 1878-1899
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues by Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor)
ISBN: 9780313392047

Publication Date: 2011

Covers the most critical issues facing American society today. Topic range from biotechnology to identity theft, from racial profiling to corporate governance, from school choice to food safety. 4 volumes.
Vol. 1 - Business and Economy
Vol. 2 - Criminal Justice
Vol. 3 - Family and Society
Vol. 4 - Environment, Science, and Technology
Encyclopedia of European Social History by Peter Stearns (Editor)
ISBN: 9780684805825

Publication Date: 2000

This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health.
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts, 2nd Ed. by Joseph R. Rudolph (Editor)
ISBN: 9781610695527

Publication Date: 2016

Presents comprehensive coverage of ethnic conflicts that enables readers to comprehend recent events around the world
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2nd Ed. by Patrick L. Mason (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028661957

Publication Date: 2013

Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders and notorious racists. 4 volumes.

Digital History Reference Resources

American Decades
American Decades is a cross-disciplinary source for general researchers who need a single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history.
Repositories of Primary Sources
Online guide to primary sources.
American Memory (Library of Congress)
Library of Congress is digitizing primary sources from their vast collections.
American Decades Primary Sources
Cross-disciplinary ebook spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.

Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages by Sara Pendergast; Tom Pendergast (Editors)
ISBN: 9780787693008

Publication Date: 2004

Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs. 5 volumes.

ArchiveGrid
A collection of nearly two million archival material descriptions, including MARC records from WorldCat and finding aids harvested from the web. Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented.

American Eras by Gretchen D. Starr-LeBeau (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787614775

Publication Date: 1997

Ebook that includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles, and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history. 8 volumes.

Volume 1: Early American Civilizations and Exploration to 1600
Volume 2: The Colonial Era, 1600-1754
Volume 3: The Revolutionary Era, 1754-1783
Volume 4: Development of a Nation, 1783-1815
Volume 5: The Reform Era and Eastern U.S. Development, 1815-1850
Volume 6: Westward Expansion, 1800-1860
Volume 7: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1850-1877
Volume 8: Development of the Industrial United States, 1878-1899