Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Sources - Women's Studies, Global & Popular Culture
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Multicultural Studies
A variety of reference works representing ethnic and cultural groups.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences – 2nd edition
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Countries, Peoples, and Cultures
The Countries, Peoples & Cultures series is complete with information on over 200 countries and self-governing territories, as well as separate appendices profiling 21 types of governments currently in power and 10 major world religions.
CQ Researcher Online
CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture by
Call Number: Reference 1st Floor E169.12 .E49 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Covers the most critical issues facing American society today. Topic range from biotechnology to identity theft, from racial profiling to corporate governance, from school choice to food safety.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by
Publication Date: 2007
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more. 4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History in America by
Publication Date: 2003
A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Social Issues by
Publication Date: 2011
Covers the most critical issues facing American society today. Topic range from biotechnology to identity theft, from racial profiling to corporate governance, from school choice to food safety. 4 volumes.
Vol. 1 - Business and Economy
Vol. 2 - Criminal Justice
Vol. 3 - Family and Society
Vol. 4 - Environment, Science, and Technology
Other Reference Resources