It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 347: Modern Japan - Tintle: Home
Do you understand what constitutes a primary sources? These resources help explain the difference between a primary, secondary and tertiary source.
Primary vs. Secondary from A. Phillip Randolph Memorial Library
This historical New York Times newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time; coverage is 1851 to 3-4 year lag. See Newspapers – Global Newsstream (Proquest) for current articles.
Readers' Guide Retro is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Readers' Guide Retro covers the years 1890 - 1982
Cross-disciplinary ebook spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
Portal to online archival and historical collections from institutions around the U.S., searchable and browsable by year, place, or subject. Access over 38 million images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.