Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source E-books
American Decades: Primary Documents by
Publication Date: 2003
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more. 10 volumes.
Daily Life Through World History in Primary Documents by
Publication Date: 2008
Provides insight into major cultures from all continents including annotated primary documents introducing aspects of daily life throughout the world. Covers domestic life, economics, intellectual life, material life, politics, religion, and recreation, from antiquity to the present. 3 volumes.
The Holocaust: an Encyclopedia and Document Collection by
Publication Date: 2017
This book contains reference entries, primary documents, and memoirs and personal narratives from individuals who lived through the Holocaust enabling a better understanding of the cultural, political, and economic motivations that spurred the Final Solution in Europe during World War II as well as the ideas and policies used by perpetrators to justify their actions in the annihilation of the Jews of Europe. 4 volumes.
Modern Genocide by
Publication Date: 2014
This massive four-volume work provides students with a close examination of 10 modern genocides enhanced by documents and introductions that provide additional historical and contemporary context for learning about and understanding these tragic events. 4 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life, 2nd Ed. by
Publication Date: 2009
Covers cultural groups in Asia, Europe, the Americas and Africa. Each volume is organized by continent, covering history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more. 5 volumes.
Online History Reference Resources
A resource for reliable information about significant people, places, events and things in Minnesota history created by the Minnesota Historical Society.
Seventies in America, The
The Seventies in America covers events, movements, people, and trends in popular culture, literature, art, sports, science, technology, economics, and politics in the United States and Canada. The Seventies in America features both longer overviews and shorter entries discussing people, books, films, television series, musical groups, and other important topics. Every entry focuses on that topic or person during the 1970's (1/1/70 to 12/31/79) in order to explore what made the decade unique.
Sixties in America, The
The Sixties in America, surveys the events and people of the 1960's, a turbulent decade that had a profound and lasting effect on the life and culture of the United States. Provides in-depth coverage of the Civil Rights movement, the social revolution, and the Vietnam War and also surveys important developments in the arts, science and technology, business and the economy, government and politics, and gender issues.
Uniform Crime Reports and Crime in the United States
The Uniform Crime Report provides reliable, uniform crime statistics for the United States. Crime in the United States (CIUS) is an annual publication in which the FBI compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data.
History Reference E-books
American Decades 1900-1999 by
Publication Date: 2001
Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999). 10 volumes.
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression by
Publication Date: 2003
This 2-vol. set encompasses nearly two decades of American history, beginning with the farm crisis of the mid-1920s, through the 1929 stock market crash, the gradual recovery during the 1930s with Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal and World War II. This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary encyclopedia features entries on depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages by
Publication Date: 2004
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Examines more than 430 items of human decoration and adornment, ranging from togas to turbans, necklaces to tennis shoes. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This set shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect the different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs. 5 volumes.
Prejudice, Bias, & Discrimination, 2nd Ed.
Publication Date: 2017
This work is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various sociological topics. This volume provides an introduction to the issues surrounding racial and ethnic discrimination.
American Eras by
Publication Date: 1997
Ebook that includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles, and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history. 8 volumes.
Volume 1: Early American Civilizations and Exploration to 1600
Volume 2: The Colonial Era, 1600-1754
Volume 3: The Revolutionary Era, 1754-1783
Volume 4: Development of a Nation, 1783-1815
Volume 5: The Reform Era and Eastern U.S. Development, 1815-1850
Volume 6: Westward Expansion, 1800-1860
Volume 7: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1850-1877
Volume 8: Development of the Industrial United States, 1878-1899
Crime and Punishment Around the World by
Publication Date: 2010
Explores crime and punishment throughout the world through the eyes of leading experts, local authors and scholars, and government officials.
Print History Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by
Publication Date: 1999
This 3 volume set is a vast introductory work to a diverse and socially-important field. Entries written by more than 200 eminent contributors from around the world describe and clarify the developments in thought that have led to current theories about and positions on violence and peace.
An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Conflict and Conflict Resolution, 1945-1996 by
Publication Date: 1998
This work brings together in encyclopedic format most of the major events of the last half century that can be classified as conflict, including war, assassinations, coups, insurgency, terrorism, massacres, and genocide. It provides detailed information on the people, places and events that have produced conflict and its resolution since 1945. Many entries trace the antecedents of events back through history to illustrate continuity and change.