It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENGL 286: Writing for the Workplace - Hamrick: Look for books and articles
Research a problem, issue, concern in your proposed job field
Points of View Reference Center™ is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
The database provides 255 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide. Topics covered include: affirmative action, cloning, DNA profiling, HIV/AIDS status disclosure, immigration, Iraq, Israel & the Palestinians, Katrina and FEMA response, nuclear proliferation, separation of church and state, standardized testing, stem cell research, tax cuts, voting machines, and many more.
US Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. It features top newspapers, wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format. US Newsstream provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S. and includes exclusive and preferred access to top titles, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune. All titles are cross searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Coverage, updated daily, of local, state, regional, national, and international newspapers is available, including full-text access to 27 major newspapers: the Star Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, Barron's, and USA Today, to name just a few.