LibGuides: Subject Guide: History: Finding Articles

History Related Databases

Databases related mostly or primarily to history. Available to MSUM students and faculty/staff with proper log-in credentials.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections
Contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals held by American Antiquarian Society, documenting the life of America's people from 1684 to 1912.

African Journals Online
The world's largest and preeminent platform of African-published scholarly journals.
ArchiveGrid
A collection of nearly two million archival material descriptions, including MARC records from WorldCat and finding aids harvested from the web. Archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives are represented.

Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.

History Journals on JSTOR
JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources; this page features all of the history journals, some of which are citations, some of which are full-text.
History Journals on Project Muse
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community, with complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary online databases of articles, many in full-text, useful for resarch on all topics. Available to MSUM students and faculty/staff with proper log-in credentials.

Academic Search Complete
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
JSTOR Full Text Journals
Journal articles and books. Journals have extensive archives but often delay access to recent issues by 4-5 years.
Subject areas include African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population/Demography, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Sociology, and Statistics.
MasterFILE Complete - EBSCO
General interest magazines, books, documents, and images.
Project Muse
Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
New York Times (ProQuest, 1851-four year lag)
This historical New York Times newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage is 1851 with 3-4 embargo. See Newspapers – U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) for current articles.
Newspapers - U.S. Newsstream (Proquest)
News in all formats from around the US.