Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Reference Materials
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
For students and adults alike, the Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. The database contains various images, offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas.
- Britannica Online Academic Edition
The award-winning Britannica Online® delivers fast and easy access to high-quality, comprehensive information. The rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides the variety of reliable sources that students need to consult when conducting thorough research—all from one database.
Literature Reference Sources
- Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors since 1950
Focuses on writers and works published since 1950. The majority of the authors surveyed are African American, but representative African and Caribbean authors are also included.
- Contemporary Authors - Gale
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on all of the more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors whose entries appear in Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revision Series.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Search all of the Gale Literature titles at the same time. Includes Drama for Students, Gothic Literature, Literature and Its Times, Nonfiction Classics for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, Shakespeare for Students, Short Stories for Students and World Literature and Its Times. Use the advanced search option and limit search to "Literature" to search all literature resources.
- Gothic Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
Spans all facets of gothic literature, including visual and performing arts, society and culture, themes, and settings. Includes primary source documents and critical material to provide a contextual perspective, a related chronology of key events, full-text commentaries, and lists of further readings.
- Literary Movements for Students
Entries provide in-depth historical background information on each movement as well as modern critical interpretation of each movement's characteristic styles and themes.
- Literature and Its Times
Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American.
- Literature Criticism Online
The largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format.
- Nonfiction Classics for Students
Provides critical overviews on the most frequently studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies, and memoirs. Includes discussions of literary format, themes, and structure.
- Novels for Students
Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance
- Oxford English Dictionary
The OED Online contains the complete text of the 20-volume 2nd Edition(1989) including supplements. Entries offer pronunciation, etymologies, quotations, and date of first known usage.
- Poetry for Students
Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.
- Shakespeare for Students
Collection of essays by Shakespeare scholars that have been selected for students at the undergraduate college level.
Each entry includes an introduction; a plot synopsis; a character list; a discussion of the work's principal themes; information about the style and literary devices used; a conversation about the work's historical context; and a critical overview.
- Short Stories for Students
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.
- World Literature and Its Times
Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. The set covers Latin American, British, Irish, Spanish, Portuguese, Middle Eastern, Italian, and Classical Literature.