Skip to main content

Government Documents: Maps

Finding government information

General information

The MSUM library collects and houses an assortment of paper Maps located on the 2nd Floor. The collection consists of USGS, U.S., Minnesota, and North Dakota topographic series; several other federal agency maps, such as the Central Intelligence and Census Bureau maps; and a cabinet of "popular" maps (state transportation maps, etc.). The popular maps may be checked out at the circulation desk.

The Atlas Collection is housed with the map collection on the 2nd Floor and consists mostly of general interest resources.

U.S.G.S. Map information

For information, go to the USGS web site or write

U.S.G.S
Information Services
P.O. Box 25286
Denver, CO 80225


or call 1-888-ASK-USGS

Map Resources online

Geographic Information Services - Legislative Coordinating Commission
The repository of statewide boundary information for the Minnesota legislature. Maintains a spatial data library provided by the Census Bureau and other Minnesota State agencies including demographics, elections, natural resources, and infrastructure.

Minnesota Geospacial Information Office (MnGeo)
The homepage of the state agency responsible for coordinating GIS within Minnesota. MnGeo succeeds the Land Management Information Center; all functions and resources were transferred to MnGeo. Search for maps and GIS data including highway maps; plat maps; and by city, township, and county.

Census Bureau Gazetteer Files
Provides a listing of all geographic areas for selected geographic area types. The files include geographic identifier codes, names, area measurements, and representative latitude and longitude coordinates.

U.S. Data and Statistics - Maps
Offers mapping products from federal, state, and local partners on a variety of topics, such as recreation, environmental resources, scientific analysis, and emergency response.

All the Worlds Maps 
Provides access to national maps and maps pinpointing major cities for countries ranging from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Also includes links to worldwide directories providing embassy locations, consulate locations, dialing codes, telephone directories, visa requirements, voltage requirements, and telephone rates.

Historical Maps of the United States
Compiled by the University of Texas Perry-Castañeda Library Map Dept., this website contains links to a variety of historical maps.

David Rumsey Map Collection
This map collection focuses on rare 16th - 21st century maps of North and South America, but also includes maps from all over the world. The collection includes atlases, wall maps, globes, school geographies, pocket maps, books of exploration, maritime charts, and a variety of cartographic materials including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. Viewers have access to a variety of tools that allow to users to compare, analyze, and view items in new and experimental ways.

The Civil War Map Collection
Contains approximately 2,240 Civil War maps and charts and 76 atlases and sketchbooks held within the Library of Congress Geography and Map Division, 200 maps from the Library of Virginia, and 400 maps from the Virginia Historical Society that depict battles, troop positions and movements, engagements, and fortifications. Also included are reconnaissance maps, sketch maps, coastal charts, and theater of war maps.
Includes maps prepared by Federal forces or by commercial firms in the North as well as a substantial number by Confederate military authorities and a few by Southern publishers. Most entries include a brief paragraph describing the contents of the map; no attempt has been made to analyze the maps or to evaluate them critically.

Live Weather Images 
Pulls together the best and most frequently accessed weather data on the Internet and puts it all into one easy to use site with weathercams, radar and satellite images, forecasts, and a message board.

NatGeo Mapmaker Interactive
Create printable maps.

Atlas of Cyberspace
An atlas of maps and graphic representations of the geographies of the new electronic territories of the Internet. Last updated February 2007.

Atlapedia Online
Contains full color physical and political maps as well as key facts and statistics on countries of the world. Last updated 2011. 

Color Landform Atlas of the United States
Shows various relief and topographic maps of all 50 states.

 

 

Subject Guide

Larry Schwartz's picture
Larry Schwartz
Contact:
Livingston Lord Library, Room 116
218-477-2353
Website