Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Modern Conflict in the Greater Middle East: a Country-By-Country Guide by
Publication Date: 2017
This reference work covers the history of Middle East nations, addressing military, political, diplomatic, and ideological trends in each respective country and enabling readers to better understand the factors behind the crises shaping the Middle East today.
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences, 2nd Ed. by
Publication Date: 2007
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences. 9 volumes.
Legal Issues Across the Globe (Vol 1) by
Publication Date: 2017
Provides worldwide coverage of important legal topics of the day. Each chapter begins with an overview by a legal scholar, providing a framework for understanding the issue. Each overview is then followed by twelve essays on different countries around the world. The essays discuss laws in those countries, as well as the historical and cultural contexts in which those laws came about.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Publication Date: 2003
Presents easy-to-understand information on 200 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders. 6 volumes.
Online Reference Materials
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) was established in 1962 and is an integral part of the infrastructure of social science research. ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative methods to facilitate effective data use.
Social Progress Index
The Social Progress Index uses non-economic measures to gauge the well-being of a country's inhabitants. Covers 99 percent of the world's population. The index consists of 52 indicators, divided into three major categories: basic human needs, foundations of well-being, and opportunity.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
The World Factbook (CIA)
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
Print (paper) Reference Materials
The links below will help you locate print resources for Political Science topics.