Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Subject Guide: Geography: Websites

This guide contains resources for geography.

Web Sites of Interest

     

Association of American Geographers
The Association of American Geographers (AAG) is a scientific and educational society founded in 1904. Its 6,500 members share interests in the theory, methods, and practice of geography.

    Esri GIS Online
This bibliography covers the literature of geographic information systems, science, and technology. It indexes journals, conference proceedings, books, and reports from the origins of GIS to the present.
   

Natural Earth
A public domain map dataset available at 1:10m, 1:50m, and 1:110 million scales. Featuring tightly integrated vector and raster data, with Natural Earth you can make a variety of visually pleasing, well-crafted maps with cartography or GIS software.

    Science.gov
A gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S Government agencies, including research and development results.
   

Minnesota Maps Online
Historians, cartographers, and those who are just generally curious about maps often flock to archives and museums to get a closer look. Fortunately, many institutions have digitized some (or all) of their map collections and placed them online. The Minnesota Historical Society has created this tremendous collection of land survey maps, plat books and atlases, dating from 1848 to 2001. The search interface for the collection is quite easy to use, as visitors can search the land survey maps by county or township. Those persons who encounter trouble using the search engine can click on a small “Help” icon to get more information about performing a detailed search. The plat books and atlases are great fun as well, particularly the illustrated historical atlas of Minnesota from 1874. Through its 394-pages, the atlas contains interesting views of the state’s counties, along with sections dedicated to persons of note at the time, including prominent physicians, attorneys, “public men”, and lumber dealers. As the preface to this august volume notes, “…we can conscientiously say that we have strived to make it as near perfect as the circumstances under which we have labored would permit.” Truer words have never been spoken.

    USGS Historical Topographic Map Explorer
Uhe this tool to find historic topographic maps and overlay them on a modern map. Map download is available.
    U.S. Geologic Survey
The USGS serves the Nation as an independent fact-finding agency that collects, monitors, analyzes, and provides scientific understanding about natural resource conditions, issues, and problems.

Subject Guide

Travis Dolence's picture
Travis Dolence
Contact:
Office: Livingston Lord Library, LI 117
218.477.2358