Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
100 Great War Movies by
Publication Date: 2018
This book serves as a guide to 100 war films from 1930 to the present, exploring wars set as early as the 13th century Scottish Wars of Independence to those taking place in the 21st century, including the Napoleonic Wars, the American Civil War, World War I, World War II, the Vietnam War, and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq. For each movie, it provides background, production, synopsis, reception, and anecdotes as well as addresses the films' historical accuracy.
Drama for Students series
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
The Rough Guide to Film by
Publication Date: 2007
Profiles numerous directors, from many different genres and regions. Reviews thousands of movies with each film placed in the context of its director's career.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Films by
Publication Date: 2014
Provides an introduction to the historical range and scope of cinema produced throughout the world. Includes 200 essays by leading film scholars analyzing the most important, influential, innovative, and interesting films of all time.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory by
Publication Date: 2013
An international reference work representing the essential ideas and concepts at the center of film theory from the beginning of the twentieth century to the beginning of the twenty-first.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 2nd Ed. by
Publication Date: 2013
Includes more than 3,036 essays written or reviewed by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. Entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance).
Film & Theater Reference Resources
The Web's first runway fashion database offering comprehensive coverage encompassing runway, details, backstage, lookbooks, front row, street style, and promotional presentations.
The Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre by
Publication Date: 2010
A useful resource for anyone interested in theatre, it includes overviews of major concepts, topics and issues, surveys of theatre institutions, countries, and genres, biographical entries on key performers, playwrights, directors, designers, choreographers and composers, and articles by leading professionals on crafts, skills and disciplines including acting, design, directing, lighting, sound and voice.
Curriculum Materials Center Librarian
, Communication Studies
, Film Studies
, Government Documents
, Graphic Arts
, Graphic Design
, Mass Communications
, Speech Communication