Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia Judaica, 2nd Ed. by
Publication Date: 2006
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures. 22 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Ed. by
Publication Date: 2005
Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors. 15 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Sciences and Religions by
Publication Date: 2013
A comprehensive reference work for scholars interested in the topic of Science and Religion. Covers the widest spectrum possible of academic disciplines and religious traditions worldwide. Maps the (self)-identified disciplines and religious traditions that participate or might come to participate in the Science and Religion debate. Includes general and religious-specific entries. Explains specific theories, methods, and topics.
New Catholic Encyclopedia, 2nd Ed. by
Publication Date: 2003
Features revised and new articles. Among the 12,000 entries in the encyclopedia are articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and much more. 15 volumes.
Religious Practices, Theories and Themes (Sociology Reference Guide)
Publication Date: 2014
This work is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various sociological topics. This volume covers four areas of religion and society by defining the nature of religious belief; exploring three theories on the formation of religion as a social construct; identifying the relationship between religion, civil society, and politics; and surveying the religious secularization that occurs in global movements.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by
Publication Date: 2006
Provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers. 3 volumes.
Religion Reference Resources
Curriculum Materials Center Librarian
, Communication Studies
, Film Studies
, Government Documents
, Graphic Arts
, Graphic Design
, Mass Communications
, Speech Communication
Websites of Interest
Making of America (Cornell University)
Digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. 109 monographs (267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes) with imprints primarily between 1840 - 1900.
Making of America (University of Michigan)
Digital library documenting American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Contains approximately 1,600 books and 10 journals with imprints primarily between 1850 - 1877.