Digital Reference Shelf: History

Ebook that includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles, and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history. 8 volumes.

Volume 1: Early American Civilizations and Exploration to 1600
Volume 2: The Colonial Era, 1600-1754
Volume 3: The Revolutionary Era, 1754-1783
Volume 4: Development of a Nation, 1783-1815
Volume 5: The Reform Era and Eastern U.S. Development, 1815-1850
Volume 6: Westward Expansion, 1800-1860
Volume 7: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1850-1877
Volume 8: Development of the Industrial United States, 1878-1899

This book provides a chronological overview of Latino/a history in North America beginning with the indigenous populations of the Americas through the present day.

Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the fascinating details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology and social trends.

Covers everything from monumental events and groundbreaking individuals to the fascinating details of Americans' daily lives. Supports historical research in disciplines from the arts and business to law, medicine, technology and social trends.

Cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999). 10 volumes.

Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.

Ebook that includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the era of industrial development in U.S. history.

Ebook that includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the Civil War and Reconstruction Era in U.S. history.

Ebook that includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the Westward Expansion Era in U.S. history.

Ebook that includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the American colonial era.

Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to the era of early American civilizations and exploration before 1600.

Covers an extensive array of topics on ancient Greece and Rome including daily life, art and architecture, philosophy, science, religion, statesmen, military leaders, emperors, and more. 4 volumes.

Provides insight into Chinese history and culture today in nearly a thousand articles that include everything from "Adoption" and "Banking" to "Wound Literature" and the "Zhou Dynasty". Designed for students, teachers, businesspeople, government officials, and tourists seeking a greater understanding of China today. 5 volumes.

This title presents important historical documents from influential figures in Native American history. It provides in-depth analysis of speeches, letters, legislation, court cases, and other sources about Native Americans throughout American history.

This book presents and discusses documents that reflect pivotal moments in the LGBT rights movement in North America, from the First People, through the influx of European settlers and the slave trade from Africa, to the modern era.

This book provides an introductory overview of the Salem witch trials, which is followed by an array of primary sources that tell the Salem story in the words of both the accusers and the victims of that episode.

A four-volume survey of the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. Includes more than 600 entries, arranged alphabetically. For students and general readers.

Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the European Renaissance and Reformation, 1350-1600.

This book contains reference entries, primary documents, and memoirs and personal narratives from individuals who lived through the Holocaust enabling a better understanding of the cultural, political, and economic motivations that spurred the Final Solution in Europe during World War II as well as the ideas and policies used by perpetrators to justify their actions in the annihilation of the Jews of Europe. 4 volumes.

This reference work covers the history of Middle East nations, addressing military, political, diplomatic, and ideological trends in each respective country and enabling readers to better understand the factors behind the crises shaping the Middle East today.

Presents a year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present. Each chronological chapter is further organized by era or year, and within each year by 33 standard subject categories that feature not only political events and wars, but also events in the arts and humanities, education, transportation, science and medicine, and social trends. Also includes issues of concern such as consumer protection, crime, and nutrition.

The premise of this book is that we can learn from our history, apply new knowledge, and break the cycle of racism.

This book surveys the history of the global rise of Communism, from the earliest phases of the "Utopian Socialist" movement and the beginnings of Marxist theory to the collapse of the Soviet system and the Cold War. It begins with a timeline and narrative overview, which are followed by reference entries, primary source documents, and original argumentative essays on enduring issues related to Communism.

This encyclopedia explores how, for three centuries, the Vikings changed the political world of northern and western Europe. It covers how did they knew when to strike, their military strengths, their leaders, the impact of their raids, and is devoted specifically to the topic of conflict, invasions, and raids in the Viking Age. It features extracts of poetry and prose and provides cultural context in addition to an in-depth analysis of Viking military practices.