It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Reference Shelf: Music & Dance
A list of MSUM's digital encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.
The go-to source for piano performers, teachers, and students expertly guides readers to solo piano literature and provides answers to common questions. Includes enhanced indexes identifying black composers, women composers, and compositions for piano with live or recorded electronics; a thorough listing of anthologies and collections organized by time period and nationality; and expanded entries to account for new material, works, and resources.
This book provides the one-stop shop for those in need of a quick, visually-rich reference guide to band and orchestral instruments. Includes descriptions and illustrations, a Quick Start and In Depth features, and individual chapters on various types of instruments with detailed information for each.
With topics ranging from non-Western instruments to distinctive rhythms of music of various countries, this one-stop resource on global music also promotes cultural appreciation of other countries and cultural groups from around the globe and provides multidisciplinary perspectives. The volumes cover all world regions, including the Americas, Europe, Africa and the Middle East, and Asia and the Pacific, promoting a geographic understanding and appreciation of global music.