LibGuides: Digital Reference Shelf: Education & Psychology

E-books

APA Dictionary of Psychology, 2nd Ed. by Gary R. VandenBos (Editor)
ISBN: 9781433819445
Publication Date: 2015
Offers definitive information on the lexicon of the field, balanced coverage of 90 subareas, thousands of incisive cross-references, more than 400 brief biographical entries on historical figures in psychology and other related areas, and a Guide to the Dictionary and a Quick Guide to Format.
Boosting Executive Skills in the Classroom by Joyce Cooper-Kahn; Margaret Foster
ISBN: 9781118141090
Publication Date: 2013
This book is organized to help teachers negotiate the very fluid challenges they face every day; educators will find strategies that improve their classroom "flow" and reduce the stress of struggling to teach students with EF (Executive Function) weaknesses.
College Blue Book, 37th Ed.
ISBN: |z9780028661018(set)
Publication Date: 2010
Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.
Encyclopedia of Distance Learning by Caroline Howard
ISBN: 9781591405559
Publication Date: 2005
The Encyclopedia of Distance Learning offers the most comprehensive coverage of the issues, concepts, trends, and technologies of distance learning. It is an excellent source of comprehensive knowledge and literature on the topic of distance learning programs. 4 volumes.
Encyclopedia of School Health by Amy C. Cory; David C. Wiley (Editors)
ISBN: 9781412996006
Publication Date: 2013
Offers quick access to health and wellness information most relevant to children in America's K-12 school setting, including guidance on developmental stages, acute and chronic illnesses, special education, nutrition, crisis response, prevention, and more.
Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning by Norbert M. Seel (Editor)
ISBN: 9781441914286
Publication Date: 2014
This book provides an up-to-date, broad, and authoritative coverage of the specific terms mostly used in the sciences of learning and its related fields, including relevant areas of instruction, pedagogy, cognitive sciences, and especially machine learning and knowledge engineering.
From the Brain to the Classroom by Sheryl Feinstein (Editor)
ISBN: 9781306734547
Publication Date: 2014
Examines the brain through the human lifespan—prenatal, early childhood, childhood, adolescence, adult, and old age—in order to supply a comprehensive look at how neuroscience can be applied to improve learning at all stages of maturity.
Handbook of Research on Classroom Diversity and Inclusive Education Practice by Christina M. Curran; Amy J. Petersen (Editors)
ISBN: 9781522525202
Publication Date: 2017
This book provides the latest scholarly research on ways to effectively teach all students and further refine and strengthen school-wide inclusive pedagogy, methods, and policies.
Implementation and Critical Assessment of the Flipped Classroom Experience by Abigail G. Scheg (Editor)
ISBN: 9781466674646
Publication Date: 2015
This book seeks to capture the momentum of non-traditional teaching methods and provide a necessary resource for individuals who are interested in taking advantage of this pedagogical endeavor.
International Education: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues and Systems by Daniel Ness; Chia-Ling Lin (Editors)
ISBN: 9780765682963
Publication Date: 2012
This encyclopedia provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of key topics, concepts, and issues, as well as in-depth studies of approximately 180 national educational systems throughout the world. Articles examine education broadly and at all levels--from primary grades through higher education, formal to informal education, country studies to global organizations.
Psychology of Classroom Learning by Eric M. Anderman; Lynley H. Anderman (Editors)
ISBN: 9780028661674
Publication Date: 2008
Examines the fundamental psychological aspects of learning such as cognition, motivation, and emotion, as well as individual and environmental factors at work in the classroom. Explores how instruction and learning are affected by factors such as classroom management, multiculturalism, learning styles, home schooling, peer relationships, school culture, discipline, self-esteem, socioeconomic status, and more.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Classroom Management by W. George Scarlett (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452241395
Publication Date: 2015
This encyclopedia raises issues and introduces evidence-based, real-world strategies for creating and maintaining well-managed classrooms where learning thrives.
Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans: A Guide to Education-Related Financial Aid Programs for Students and Professionals, 27th Ed. by Bohdan Romaniuk
ISBN: 9781414466286
Publication Date: 2010
Provides comprehensive information on sources of education-related financial aid sponsored and administered by private organizations and companies. Covers a variety of programs in all educational areas, including area and ethnic studies, business, computer science, education, liberal arts, medicine, physical sciences, theology and religion, and more. Intended for students and others interested in education funding.
The Transparent Teacher by Trent Kaufman; Emily Grimm
ISBN: 9781118487174
Publication Date: 2013
This book outlines and illustrates a step-by-step process for breaking down professional isolation and cultivating opportunities for meaningful learning through the Teacher-Driven Observation process.
Youth Sports in America: The Most Important Issues In Youth Sports Today by Skye Arthur-Banning (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440843013
Publication Date: 2018
This book examines youth sports in America today, analyzing how organized sports influence communities, discussing the potential emotional and physical benefits as well as drawbacks of youth sports, and profiling the industry's key participants, ranging from parent coaches to club sports owners to personal trainers.

Education & Psychology Reference Resources

APA PsycTests This link opens in a new window
Includes information about tests of interest to a variety of fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research.
TeachingBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to movies of authors and illustrators, audio excerpts of professional book readings, and guides to titles and multimedia resources on children's and young adult literature.

Digest of Education Statistics
The primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
Condition of Education
This website is an integrated collection of the indicators and analyses published in The Condition of Education 2000–2009. Some indicators may have been updated since they appeared in print.

Curriculum Materials Center Librarian

Trista Raezer-Stursa

Email Me

Contact:

LI 404A

(218) 477-2379

Subjects: American History, American Multicultural Studies, History, Languages, Multicultural, Philosophy, Women's Studies