Digital Reference Shelf: Gender Studies

This book presents and discusses documents that reflect pivotal moments in the LGBT rights movement in North America, from the First People, through the influx of European settlers and the slave trade from Africa, to the modern era.

This book provides an introductory overview of the Salem witch trials, which is followed by an array of primary sources that tell the Salem story in the words of both the accusers and the victims of that episode.

A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.

This collection offers analysis of primary source documents drawn from the ongoing movement to achieve recognition and equality for members of the LGBTQ+ community. Organized by historical groupings, each document is supported by a critical essay, written by historians and teachers, that includes: Summary Overview; Defining Moment; Author Biography; Document Analysis; and Essential Themes. Glossary, Chronology, Further Readings, and Web Resources are also included.

This book contains easily accessible and content-rich discussions of the literary and historical background of works from various time periods, and includes works by frequently studied and well-established authors as well as by more contemporary, up-and-coming authors.

A comprehensive encyclopedia tracing the history of the women's rights movement in the United States from the American Revolution to the present day. 4 volumes.