Digital Reference Shelf: Nursing & Medicine

A comprehensive dictionary of terms used by various national health care systems; covers terms used in medicine, allied health sciences, nursing, public health, and economics; includes a system of cross-references and internet links.

The only current compendium of important topics in nursing education; includes all topics relevant to nursing education based on a review of the literature; alphabetized and consistently formatted for easy access to information; includes comprehensive reference lists per topic; written by expert nurse educators; a listing of teaching topics compiled by the editors is available to instructors.

One-stop reference provides the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrates the depth and breadth of nursing research today.

Offers quick access to health and wellness information most relevant to children in America's K-12 school setting, including guidance on developmental stages, acute and chronic illnesses, special education, nutrition, crisis response, prevention, and more.

This book presents the latest academic material on how dietary nutrition can impact people's lives, prevent disease, and maintain an overall healthier lifestyle. It highlights such topics as health preservation, functional foods, and herbal remedies, and food allergies, addressing issues and exploring food options that are nutritious in order to promote healthier lifestyles around the world.

Comprehensive survey of cancers, cancer drugs, traditional and alternative treatments, side effects and diagnostic procedures.

Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons. 2 volumes.

A condensed version of the Nursing Diagnosis Handbook, 9th Ed. Quick access format. Includes the 2009-2011 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses; suggested nursing diagnoses for over 1,300 client symptoms; and a guide to creating care plans including desired outcomes, interventions, and patient teaching. Includes pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, and home care interventions as necessary for plans of care, with home care and client/family teaching guidelines for each condition.

Features over 35,700 authoritative definitions of diseases, procedures, equipment, drugs, and more, along with pronunciations, etymologies, and a Spanish/English appendix. Emphasis on nursing and health science terminology support health science students and practicing professionals.

A comprehensive reference source for the latest scholarly material on nursing administration with a focus on patient care, the strategic management of nursing staff, and other areas. Highlights a range of topics, such as online nursing education, social media for professional development, and practical nurse training.

A comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators. Provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing; information regarding nine leadership-related topics; and current issues in nurse leadership including theories, characteristics, and skills required of nurse leaders in today's complex health care system. Contains both alphabetic and thematic indexes, extensive cross-referencing, and print and web references for each entry.

Up-to-date, two-volume work provides A-Z coverage of all topics related to sexually transmitted disease, ranging from anatomy to modern legal and social implications to past and present methods of prevention, diagnosis, and treatment.